HomeSportsHockeyHockey India Get its 18-Member Squad for the Men’s Hockey World Cup...
-- Advertisement --

Hockey India Get its 18-Member Squad for the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2018; Manpreet Singh to Lead the Team

- Advertisement -

As Odisha gears up for the 14th Men’s Hockey World Cup, India has also got its 18-member team for the upcoming challenge ahead. Manpreet Singh will be leading the Indian team while Chinglensana Singh Kangujam will be his deputy. The team will be opening its campaign in the world cup event against South Africa on November 28th.

-- Advertisement --

The event will kick start from 28th November till 16th December, at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Odisha.

-- Advertisement --

Who’s in & who’s out?

Adding PR Sreejesh and Kishan Bahadur Pathak as the goalkeepers, the team looks quite strong headed.  The defence will be managed by Birendra Lakra, who is making a comeback with this event after not being there in the Asian Champions Trophy. Other defence players alongside Lakra would be, Amit Rohidas, Surendra Kumar, Kothajit Singh, Harmanpreet Singh and Varun Kumar.

The mid-fielding team, too, looks at par. The young lot – Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma and Hardik Singh along with Captain Manpreet Singh and Vice-captain Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, will be teaming up for a power-packed mid-fielding setup.

-- Advertisement --

The attacking part of the game will be spearheaded by Akashdeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh and Lalit Upadhyay. They will also be joined by the Junior World Cup winner players Mandeep Singh and Simranjeet Singh. India will miss the experienced and injured SV Sunil in the attacking part.

Chief coach Harendra Singh quoted in a statement released by Hockey India, “We have chosen the best available combinations for the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018. We had to make some tough decisions to select 18 out of a very strong pool of 34 players.”

“The final 18 are a mix of experienced and youth and they have been selected on the basis of their current form and fitness. These players have consistently shown their potential in the lead up to the showpiece event and I am confident India will put up a fighting performance,” the coach added.

The significant absentees from the list were the injured SV Sunil, Rupinder Singh and Ramandeep Singh.

-- Advertisement --

The Indian Hockey Team is a part of Pool C – along with South Africa, Belgium and Canada.

The Squad

Captain: Manpreet Singh

Vice-Captain: Chinglensana Singh Kangujam

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Krishan Bahadur Pathak.

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas.

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh (captain), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (vice-captain), Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Sumit.

Forwards: Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Simranjeet Singh.


Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Bhawna Kothari
Bhawna Kothari
Lover of cultures, varied colors, and underdogs, Bhawna is a by-heart and professional playwright. Hailing from a journalism & communication background, she incorporates a careful study at both flips of the coin which is essentially required to be analytical in thoughts and words. Actively abreast of the current affairs around the globe, she likes knowing and bringing into light the unexplored. Problem solving via the power of content is what inspires her and hence KreedOn, a platform created for the betterment of sports ecosystem in India, is now her happy workplace!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here