HomeSportsCricketVidarbha Donates the Prize Money of Irani Cup to CRPF Martyrs
-- Advertisement --

Vidarbha Donates the Prize Money of Irani Cup to CRPF Martyrs

- Advertisement -

With the nation mourning in the aftermath of a terrorist attack on Indian security forces in Pulwama district of J&K, Vidarbha donated the prize money of Irani Cup to the families of the martyred CRPF jawans in a noble gesture.

-- Advertisement --

“We’ve decided to donate the prize money to the families of the martyrs at Pulwama. It is just a small gesture from our side. Hopefully, everything will get better for them soon,” said Faiz Fazal, captain of Vidarbha during the post-match presentation ceremony on Saturday.

-- Advertisement --

The Irani Cup tie between Ranji champions Vidarbha and Rest of India ended in a stalemate on the fifth and final day. However, team Vidarbha was adjudged as the winners based on the first-innings lead, thereby ensuring a successful title defence.

On Thursday, a Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) terrorist had detonated an explosive-laden vehicle near a Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) bus in Pulwama, resulting in the death of 40 personnel.

-- Advertisement --

Also, Read | KL Rahul Included in India’s Squad Against Australia, Captain Kohli Back

Apart from Vidarbha, many other sportspersons and eminent personalities have come forward to support the families of martyrs. Most prominent among them is veteran Indian opener Virender Sehwag, who has donated an amount equivalent to the ex-players’ monthly salary. He has also offered to take care of the education of the martyr’s children.

Vidarbha Retain the Title, Again

Rest of India skipper Ajinkya Rahane was left to regret the bold declaration on day four after Vidarbha had set a target of 280. On the final day, the reigning champions batted exceptionally well to reach 269/5. They finished their innings only 11 runs adrift of the target.

Earlier in the contest, Vidarbha had bowled Rest of India out for 330 in the first innings. They then had taken a 95-run lead riding on No.8 batsman Akshay Karnewar’s 102 to put 425 runs on board.

-- Advertisement --

RoI boldly declared the second innings at 374/3 after Hanuma Vihari had his maiden,  unbeaten century (180) with Rahane (87) and Shreyas Iyer (61) also chipping in vital runs.

However, the decision seemed to backfire as Vidarbha were successful in retaining their title.

For more updates on sports, stay tuned to KreedOn, the voice of Indian sports.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here