-- Advertisement --
Home Events IPL - Indian Premier League 2019 IPL 2019: 5 Memorable IPL Wins in Previous Seasons

IPL 2019: 5 Memorable IPL Wins in Previous Seasons

IPL KreedOn
Credits The Indian Express
-- Advertisement --

The latest season of Indian Premier League is currently underway and there is a feeling of nostalgia with a mixture of entertainment, nail-biting moments, chats over the tea table and news channels overflowing with cricket news. Around 30 matches in the previous season and the winners decided in the very last over, expectations from this season too are running high.

-- Advertisement --

Here are the five most memorable IPL wins that were unpredictable, unexpected and wonderful.

5Delhi Capitals (DC) vs Mumbai Indians (2018, Mumbai)

Credits Times Now

Delhi Capitals is a team with talented players but their winning history has not been very impressive. One of the reason is the constant changes in the squad and leaders. In 2018, DC got a new captain and a whitewashed squad to take on the defending champions Mumbai Indians.

DC won the toss and chose to field first. Mumbai Indians started well and with some good contributions from the batsmen, they set a target of 195 runs in 30 overs. Delhi Capitals gave a great start to their batting as well. Captain Gambhir and Jason Roy put on a 50 run opening stand. Delhi then scored runs at regular intervals to boost the chances of winning. However, the hosts applied pressure just at the right moment with Delhi needing 11 off the last over to win the match.

-- Advertisement --

However, the uphill task was made to look like ordinary by Jason Roy. The batsman scored a four followed by a six in the penultimate over’s first to balls to finish the contest right away. Although Mustafizur Rahman did try to hold the match to the last ball, Roy somehow managed to score the all-important one run to hand the Delhi outfit a three-wicket win over the Indians. It was one of the most memorable win in IPL 2018.

4Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) (2014, Abu Dhabi)

Credits cricketcountry.com

The final match between Kolkata Knight Rights and Rajasthan Royals in 2014 IPL has been one of the most memorable matches ever. KKR could not qualify for the playoffs in 2013 but managed to play their best at the start of their victorious campaign in 2014 and made it to the finals. Royals won the toss and decided to bat first. Ajinkya Rahane’s 72 helped RR to set a target of 153 runs in 20 overs. On the other hand, KKR did not make a great start and reached 88/4 in 13.4 overs.

-- Advertisement --

Shakib Al Hasan and Suryakumar Yadav established a great partnership but their game ended for 152 in 20 overs which drew the match. Now the super over was the final decision of the match.But surprisingly, both the teams scored 12 runs in their super over and now the final decision was made based on the number of boundaries scored. RR finally won the match because of their more boundaries. What a great cricket match!

3Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) (2008, Eden Gardens)

Credits The Indian Express

Kolkata Knight Riders is one of the strongest teams in IPL ever since. Being two-time IPL champions, every other team put their best foot forward against them. Some poor performances in the first few seasons led Gautam Gambhir and the team management to alter things around for KKR making them the third most successful franchise in IPL after Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. The 2008 match was a turning point in their yet again rising name. The first match of the Indian Premier League and fans were nervous about the new league. RCB hosted Kolkata Knight Riders with both teams boasting a number of high-profile players.

-- Advertisement --

A New Zealand player Brendon McCullum became the reason for the match to be remembered. He was the opener in the innings for KKR, the wicket-keeper batsman scored unaccepted 158 runs off just 73 balls with KKR piling up 222 runs on the board, courtesy of McCullum’s threatening strike to the opposition bowlers. RCB, on the other hand, knew about their loss but managed to score 82. The match seemed a little too one-sided but the audience was happy despite their home team’s loss and it set the tone for the league in the years to come.

2Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) (Match 11, IPL 2014)

Credits iplt20.com

The 2014 edition of IPL was held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The 11th match of the league was between giants Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore. KKR decided to bat first.

With great bowling by the RCB bowlers, they made it difficult for KKR to score big. Gambhir could only manage to score an average total of 150. RCB seemed to take hold of the match.

The RCB required nine off the final six deliveries. Two of the best bowlers from KKR Morne Morkel and Sunil Narine had already bowled their full quota of overs. It was Vinay Kumar who decided to bowl the final over against his previous franchise. He impressively managed to restrict the opposition to six runs off the over. However, Chris Lynn’s stunning acrobatic catch became the highlight of the match. Now the team needed six runs from the last three balls. With AB De Villiers at the strike, he hit a boundary which everyone knows thought was the winning shot but Lynn amazingly caught the ball by diving backward. Ultimately, his catch led to KKR’s lead and Chris Lynn became the man of the match.

1Mumbai Indians vs Pune Warriors (2017, Hyderabad)

Mumbai Indians being one of the best teams in the IPL with 3 IPL titles and also one of the most expensive franchises have developed into one of the strongest teams since 2008. One of their greatest matches in 2017 IPL against Pune Warriors became the highlight of the season.Skilled bowling changed the game for Mumbai Indians to snatch an incredible one-run victory from the jaws of defeat against Rising Pune Supergiant in a thrilling grand finale of the Indian Premier League. This was the third IPL trophy for Mumbai Indians in 10 editions.

This win meant special for Rohit Sharma who became the only captain to clinch a hat trick of titles. The final over was the main attraction of the match where four runs were required off final ball and 3 for a Super Over and Dan Christian was on strike. He tried to get an impossible 3rd run only to be run out as Mumbai players rejoiced their victory.

For more updates on IPL, stay tuned to KreedOn, the voice of Indian sports.

A college student, Nandini is a passionate sports lover. She loves watching sports and curiously keeps checking the current scores of the matches in between her classes. Also, she loves to pen down a lot. And hence, with Kreedon, Nandini is happily connecting both her interests well.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version