HomeSportsCricketSyed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Karnataka vs Delhi: Koushik Helps Thrash Delhi
-- Advertisement --

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Karnataka vs Delhi: Koushik Helps Thrash Delhi

- Advertisement -

Karnataka extended their winning streak in the Super League stages of the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy, having trounced Delhi by 8 wickets in Group B match on Sunday.

-- Advertisement --

The south Indian team had earlier defeated domestic giants Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh in their last two Super League stage matches of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the national T20 tournament.

It was right- arm medium pacer Koushik V, with an all-around performance, who shone the brightest as Karnataka restricted their opponents to 109 runs. Later on, Karun Nair and Mayank Agarwal remained unbeaten to see off their team chase down the lowly target with comfort.

-- Advertisement --

The Karnataka bowlers justified why the skipper asked Delhi to bat first at the Emerald Heights International School Ground.

Also Read | Ind vs Aus 4th ODI 2019: Aussies Stun Hosts With Biggest Chase

Koushik (4-19) and leg-spinner KC Cariappa (3-15) caused havoc in the Delhi dugout with a superb batting display to bowling them out for a meagre 109/9 in their 20 overs.
Except for Nitish Rana (37 off 29 balls) and Lalit Yadav (33 off 40 balls), none if the Delhi batsman could stay for a long time as Cariappa and Koushik ran through the top and middle order.

Medium pacer R Vinay Kumar with 1-13 figures was also played his role aptly.

-- Advertisement --

Second Innings

Karnataka suffered an early setback after losing the in-form opener Rohan Kadam for a duck in their bid to chase 110. It was the rival skipper Ishant Sharma caught him out in the second over off pacer Navdeep Saini.

Just when wicket-keeper B R Sharath (26 from 15 balls) and Agarwal (43* off 47 balls) were building a partnership (32) for the second wicket, Subodh Bhati sent Sharath home with a runout.

Triple Centurion Karun Nair then joined forces with Agarwal as the duo weaved a crucial partnership to see Karnataka easily win the match with 4.3 overs to spare.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Mayank Agarwal remained unbeaten as Karnataka trounced Delhi. Image Source: India Today

Shreevats Goswami Helps Bengal Thrash Jharkhand

Elsewhere, Bengal demolished Jharkhand by 8 wickets in the Group A game on Sunday.
Bengal bowlers were a clinical enough to hold Jharkhand to a score of 126/9 in 20 overs. The team then chased down the target with as many as 7 overs to spare.

-- Advertisement --

Shreevats Goswami was the star of the show in the second innings as the batsman hit n unbeaten knock of 86 off just 50 balls. His stellar innings was sprinkled with 12 fours and a six, helping Bengal grab all the 4 points.

Meanwhile, Ranji Trophy winners Vidarbha bowlers showed spine to guide the side to a 10-run win over Uttar Pradesh in the Group B game.

In the final game of the evening, Maharashtra first held Gujarat to 143/9 in 20 overs before overhauling the target with a ball to spare in what proved to be an edge of the seat thriller. Maharashtra won by 4 wickets and went home with all the four points.

For more updates on sports, stay tuned to KreedOn, the voice of Indian sports.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya is the Head of Content at KreedOn. He is a thorough tech-enthusiast and believes that innovation is the answer to all the problems prevalent in the society. Monish graduated from University of Pune with a degree in Civil Engineering before pursuing a post-graduate diploma course in intellectual property rights. A die-hard football fan, he has represented his college at various football competitions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here