HomeEventsSunrisers Hyderabad IPL Team: History, Captains, Owners, Stats- All Details
-- Advertisement --

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL Team: History, Captains, Owners, Stats- All Details

- Advertisement -

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) team is a silent killer in IPL. The team does its job quietly but efficiently. The team doesn’t boast of big names but it has players who do their work with diligence and effectiveness. The team debuted in the IPL in 2013, making it to the playoffs and ultimately securing fourth place. Their first IPL championship victory came in the 2016 season when they triumphed over the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs in the final match.

-- Advertisement --

Sunrisers Hyderabad Full Squad in IPL 2024

Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram (c), Marco Jansen, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Sanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Agarwal, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed , Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Pat Cummins, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan.

About Sunrisers Hyderabad Team (SRH)

Information Details
Name SRH
Nickname(s) SRH Orange Army, Eagles
League Indian Premier League
Captain Pat Cummins
Coach Daniel Vettori
Owner SUN Group
Team information
City Hyderabad, Telangana, India
Founded 2012; 12 years ago
Home ground Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
Capacity 55,000
Indian Premier League wins 2016

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) History

Sunrisers Hyderabad emerged in 2012, succeeding the Deccan Chargers, and debuted in 2013. Following Deccan Chronicle’s bankruptcy, Sun TV Network acquired the franchise. The team, owned by Sun TV Network Limited, clinched the bid with ₹85.05 crore (US$11 million) annually for five years, subsequent to the Chargers’ termination due to financial troubles. Headquartered in Chennai, Sun TV Network Limited stands as India’s leading media company with 32 TV channels and 45 FM radio stations.

Their team jersey was revealed on 8 March 2013, accompanied by the release of their anthem composed by G. V. Prakash Kumar on 12 March 2013. The logo was introduced on 20 December 2012, alongside the announcement of Kris Srikkanth’s leadership, later succeeded by Muttiah Muralitharan, Tom Moody, and V. V. S. Laxman.

Rajasthan Royals IPL Team: History, Scandal, Captains, Stats, Owners – KreedOn DetailsAlso Read | Rajasthan Royals (RR) IPL Team: History, Owners, Scandal, Captains, Stats

2016 Winners

2016 was a monumental season for the team. They defeated the strong Virat Kohli led Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals and were crowned the winners. In the entire season, the team won 11 games. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the leading wicket-taker of the season who won the purple cap.

Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL Team: History, Captains, Owners, Stats- KreedOn Details
Image Source: indianexpress

In the next season, Bhuvneshwar Kumar repeated his heroics with the ball, winning the purple cap. Captain David Warner too bagged the orange cap. But, the team lost to Kolkata Knight Riders in the eliminator.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Team Performance

Year League standing Final standing
2013 4th out of 9 Playoffs
2014 6th out of 8 League stage
2015 6th out of 8 League stage
2016 3rd out of 8 Champions
2017 3rd out of 8 Playoffs
2018 1st out of 8 Runners-up
2019 4th out of 8 Playoffs
2020 3rd out of 8 Playoffs
2021 8th out of 8 League stage
2022 8th out of 10 League stage
2023 10th out of 10 League stage

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Owners

Owned by Kalanithi Maran of the SUN Group, the franchise was established in 2012 following the termination of the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers by the IPL. Currently led by Daniel Vettori and captained by Pat Cummins, their main home ground is the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad, boasting a capacity of 55,000.

-- Advertisement --

Sunrisers Hyderabad Kits & Sponsors

Year Kit manufacturer Shirt sponsor (chest) Shirt sponsor (back) Chest branding
2013 Puma MakeMyTrip SpiceJet LIVE(IN) Jeans
2014 TYKA WHSmith Red FM
2015 Red FM Idea Justdial
2016 UltraTech Cement Red FM
2017 Red FM Sun Direct
2018 Red FM Manforce Rupa
2019 Coolwinks Red FM
2020 JK Lakshmi Cement RALCO Tyres Valvoline
2021 Kent RO
2022 Wrogn Cars24 BKT
2023 FanCraze Kühl
2024 Dream 11

CSK Team in IPL 2024: Full List of Players Retained & Released | Full Match Schedule - KreedOnAlso Read | CSK Team in IPL 2024: Players Retained & Released

SRH: Captains

Player From To Matches Won Lost Tied Win% Best Result
Kumar Sangakkara 2013 2013 9 4 4 1 44.44 Playoffs (2013)
Cameron White 2013 2013 8 5 3 0 62.50 Playoffs (2013)
Shikhar Dhawan 2013 2014 16 7 9 0 43.73 6/8 (2014)
Darren Sammy 2014 2014 4 2 2 0 50.00 Stand-In
David Warner 2015 2021 67 35 30 2 52.24 W (2016)
Kane Williamson 2018 2022 46 22 23 1 47.83 Runners up (2018)
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2018 2023 8 2 6 0 25.00 Stand-In
Manish Pandey 2021 2021 1 0 1 0 0 Stand-In
Aiden Markram 2023 2023 13 4 9 0 30.77 10/10 (2023)
Pat Cummins 2024 Present 0 0 0 0 0

Social Media



-- Advertisement --

IPL 2024: Top Player Jerseys That Turn Heads | Cheer & Support Your Team - KreedOnAlso Read | IPL 2024: Top Player Jerseys That Turn Heads

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here