From Mamata Banerjee to Kiren Rijiju | Sports Minister Of India

Rajyavardhan-Singh-Rathore Kreedon
credits: News18

India has a significant history in the field of sports. Then may it be the country’s dominance in Olympics hockey, the 1983 Cricket World Cup triumph, or the 2018 Mary Kom’s record 6th World Championships gold medal – India has seen defining sports moments. However, as much as it is the athletes’ efforts, the government’s decisions and policies also play an important role in the creation of such memories. We may know names of athletes who brought us the glory but do can we recall names of the Sports Minister of India during that duration? The Sports Minister of India is basically the cabinet member who is appointed as the head of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. Here are the top 10 Sports Minister of India:

11Mamata Banerjee (1991 to 1993)

mamata-banerjee Kreedon

Mamata Banerjee was elected in the Lok Sabha from Kolkata in 1991. This dates back to the era of onset of privatisation and liberalisation of the Indian Economy. Didi, as she is popularly referred to as in West Bengal, was then an integral part of the Indian National Congress. She got a chance in the Union Cabinet as well. Banerjee became the Minister of State in Human Resources Development, Youth Affairs and Women and Child Development Department under the reign of PM Narasimha Rao. Also, she was the Sports Minister in the Narasimha Rao government. The only major sports event held in this era was the 1992 Summer Olympics in Spain. India put up one the worst performance in the history of Indian Sports. In the 5 sports that India took part, athletes could not grab any medal.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here