HomeSportsBadmintonSatwik-Chirag Receives Nomination for BWF Pair of the Year Award in 2023
-- Advertisement --

Satwik-Chirag Receives Nomination for BWF Pair of the Year Award in 2023

- Advertisement -

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty have been nominated for the prestigious BWF Players of the Year Award in 2023. The Indian duo, ranked fifth in the world in Badminton Men’s Doubles, will be competing for the Pair of the Year accolade.

-- Advertisement --

The awards ceremony will take place during the annual HSBC BWF World Tour Finals Gala Dinner in Hangzhou, China, on December 11. The nominees were officially approved by the BWF Council and selected based on their performances throughout the 2022-2023 season, spanning from November 1, 2022, to October 31, 2023.

Satwik-Chirag – The only Men’s Doubles pairs to get a nomination

-- Advertisement --

Satwik-Chirag had an exceptional year, highlighted by their historic Asian Games gold medal win in badminton in Hangzhou in October. Following this achievement, they also reached the top spot in the BWF World Rankings in October, becoming the first Indian doubles pair to achieve this milestone. In addition to their Asian Games success, Satwik-Chirag secured their first title of the year at the Swiss Open Super 300 in Basel in March.

Despite some challenges, they displayed an impressive performance at the Indonesia Open, clinching their maiden Super 1000 title by defeating their rivals Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik in straight games. Continuing their remarkable form, Satwik-Chirag emerged victorious at the Korea Open Super 500, defeating the Indonesian duo Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto.

Despite experiencing a decline in their performance during the Japan Open, World Championships, and China Open, Satwik-Chirag showcased their exceptional skills at the Asian Games, triumphing over every opponent they encountered. In a remarkable feat, the Indian duo defeated Aaron Chia and Soh Wooi Yik for the second time in a row, securing their spot in the final.

-- Advertisement --

Maintaining their impressive form, Satwik-Chirag emerged victorious in straight games against Choi Solgyu and Kim Wonho of South Korea in the final. However, in the Pair of the Year category, they will face tough competition from Chinese world champions Chen Qing Chen and Jia Yi Fan. The BWF will recognize outstanding shuttlers in various categories, including three for Para badminton. Thulasimathi Murugesan, a Para shuttler who clinched the gold medal in women’s singles at the Asian Para Games, has been nominated for the Female Para-Badminton Player of the Year award.

pv-sindhu badminton kreedonAlso Read | Top 12 Best Badminton Rackets Under 2000 in India | Best Rackets for Beginners & Professional – BUY the change Today! – Latest Edition

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here