HomeNewsRoad Safety World Series 2021: Indian Legends Lifts The Cup
-- Advertisement --

Road Safety World Series 2021: Indian Legends Lifts The Cup

- Advertisement -

Sachin Tendulkar led Indian Legends beat Tillakaratne Dilshan’s Sri Lankan Legends by 14 runs on Sunday. Indian Legends became the 1st champion in the inaugural season of the Road Safety World Series. The tournament was organized in Raipur.

-- Advertisement --

Indian Legends scored 181 for 4 wickets in the 20 overs game. Earlier, S.L Legends won the toss and chose to bowl first. Batting second, the Sri Lankan team was restricted to 167 for 7 by team India, resulting in a fantastic victory to Tendulkar & Co.

-- Advertisement --

Sanath Jayasuriya scored maximum runs for Sri Lankan Legends. He scored 43 off 35 balls. Dilshan (Sri Lankan captain) scored only 21.

From the Indian side, Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan were on fire. Both took the fans back to the old days. The duo’s partnership of 85-runs for the fourth wicket helped team India set a high score.

Image Source: sportstar.thehindu.com


Yuvraj Singh scored 60 runs off 41 deliveries, with the help of 4 sixes and 4 boundaries. His masterclass innings came to an end in the 19th over. Farveez Maharoof caught him in the deep off. Credits for Yuvraj’s wicket go to Kaushalya Weeraratne.

-- Advertisement --

With Yuvraj’s dismissal, Irfan Pathan joined his elder brother Yusuf. Yusuf Pathan remained unbeaten, he scored 62* off 36 deliveries. He smashed 5 sixes and 4 boundaries during his stay at the crease. Irfan, on the other end, scored quick runs. He scored 8 runs off just 3 deliveries.

Image Source: nationalherald.com

The all-time favorite opening pair of India- Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar could add only 19 runs for the first wicket. Rangana Herath dismissed Sehwag in the third over. He ended his innings scoring 10 runs off 12 balls.

After the early dismissal of Sehwag, S Badrinath joined the skipper Sachin Tendulkar. But this partnership too didn’t last very long. Sanath Jayasuriya struck S Badrinath in the 5th over.

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar, who scored a half-century in the previous match against Brian Lara’s West Indies Legends, was dismissed on 30 by Maharoof in the 11th over.

-- Advertisement --

For Sri Lankans, Rangana Herath, Sanath Jayasuriya, Farveez Maharoof, and Kaushalya Weeraratne, all took one wicket each.

The leading wicket-taker of the tournament Dilshan returned empty-handed in the finals. He gave away 25 runs in two overs with an economy of 12.5.

A very congratulations! to the entire team India for such an amazing victory. The Indian legends never stop making the nation proud. You all did it once again.

Team #KreedOn extends heartiest well wishes to the entire squad #Jaihind

[For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to the KreedOn network today-

KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport]

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Aditya Mishra
Aditya Mishra
Aditya Mishra is currently working as a head of content and manager at KreedOn. He is an ardent defense enthusiast and was a SSB aspirant (SERVICE- SELECTION-BOARD) during his college days. Moreover he has represented his state of C.G in All India Senior National Athletics Championship (Lucknow) and winner of several state athletics tournament (400m). Aditya did his PG Diploma from the prestigious Indian Institute of Mass Communication. With a vision to bring substantial change in India's sporting ecosystem, he along with his team are working for the development of Indian athletes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here