HomeSportsHockeyRani Rampal to lead Indian women's hockey team on tour of England
-- Advertisement --

Rani Rampal to lead Indian women’s hockey team on tour of England

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

Star striker Rani Rampal, on Friday, was announced as the captain of the 18-member Indian women’s hockey team for the five-match tour of England that will start on September 27 in Marlow.

The series will be held between September 27 and October 4. Goalkeeper Savita will be Rani’s deputy.

-- Advertisement --

Rajani Etimarpu and Savita held on to their places in the team following the team’s impressive show in the Olympic Test Event in Japan recently.

Defenders Gurjit Kaur, Deep Grace Ekka, Reena Khokhar and Salima Tete form the defence.

The midfield will see an experienced Namita Toppo returning back to the side after a lengthy spell on the sidelines due to injury, according to Hockey India.

-- Advertisement --

She will be joined by other experienced players like Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Monika, Neha Goyal, Nikki Pradhan, and Lilima Minz.

The forward-line is headlined by Rani, Navneet Kaur, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur, Lalremsiami, and youngster Sharmila Devi, who made a successful international debut in the Tokyo Olympic Test Event.

“The balance and mixture of players in our team remains the same from previous tournaments as go into an important phase in our objective of qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics 2020,” Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne informed about the team selected for the event.

-- Advertisement --

“It is good to have Namita Toppo back in the squad for the first time since Asian Games 2018…We still have ten days of training before we leave for the matches in England.

“I am sure these matches will serve as good preparation for our vital FIH Hockey Olympic Qualifiers in Odisha against the USA in November 2019,” he added.

Complete Squad

Goalkeepers: Savita (Vice-Captain), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders: Gurjit Kaur, Reena Khokhar, Deep Grace Ekka, Salima Tete

Midfielders: Nikki Pradhan, Monika, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Lilima Minz, Neha Goyal, Namita Toppo.

Forwards: Rani (Captain), Navneet Kaur, Navjot Kaur, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Sharmila Devi.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here