Rajasthan Royals Team: All You Need To Know About The Royals

7 min read
IPL 2019
Image Source: India Today

The Rajasthan Royals team from Jaipur always embodied resilience, commitment and a never-say-die attitude. Their name displayed the elegance, valour, and class of Rajasthan.

They debuted as Champions in the league and set high standards. Unfortunately, they got embroiled in a match-fixing scandal but bounced back stronger. From churning out cricketing stars to the scandals, we trace the journey of this unassuming and super-talented team.

About Rajasthan Royals Team

CaptainAjinkya Rahane
Home StadiumSawai Mansingh Stadium
OwnersManoj Badale, Lachlan Murdoch
Brand AmbassadorShane Warne
Head of CricketZubin Bharucha
Head CoachPaddy Upton
Batting CoachAmol Muzumdar
Spin Bowling CoachSairaj Bahutule
Fast Bowling CoachSteffan Jones
Fielding CoachDishant Yagnik
PhysiotherapistJohn Gloster


Rajasthan Royals Quick Stats

  • Matches – 132
  • 100s – 4
  • 50s – 87
  • Wickets – 681
  • Trophies – 1


Rajasthan Royals Team 2019

PlayerNationalityRoleSalary (Rupees)
Ben StokesEnglandAll-rounder12.5 crore
Steve SmithAustraliaBatsman12 crore
Sanju SamsonIndiaWicketkeeper/Batsman8 crore
Jofra ArcherBarbadosBowler7.2 crore
Krishnappa GowthamIndiaAll-rounder6.2 crore
Jos ButtlerEnglandWicketkeeper/Batsman4.4 crore
Ajinkya RahaneIndiaBatsman4 crore
Rahul TripathiIndiaAll-rounder3.4 crore
Dhawal KulkarniIndiaBowler75 lakh
Ish SodhiIndiaBowler50 lakh
Stuart BinnyIndiaBowler50 lakh
Aryaman BirlaIndiaBowler30 lakh
Mahipal LomrorIndiaAll-rounder20 lakh
Prashant ChopraIndiaWicketkeeper/Batsman20 lakh
Shreyas GopalIndiaAll-rounder20 lakh
Sudhesan MidhunIndiaBowler20 lakh


Rajasthan Royals History

Golden Start

When Indian Premier League started, nobody really expected the Rajasthan Royals to lift the cup. They didn’t have the flamboyance of Royal Challenger Bangalore, the star-power of Kolkatta Knight Riders, or the money of the Mumbai Indians. A fairly low-profile team and the least expensive out of the original eight, RR managed to debut in style.


Under the leadership of then captain Shane Warne they became the first champions of IPL. They continued their stellar run and were the runners-up at the Champions League 2013 as well. Yusuf Pathan’s performance in the inaugural edition was appreciated by everyone and Shane Watson won the Man of the Tournament award. He scored 472 runs and took 17 wickets.

Disappointments Followed

The second edition of the league was a disaster for the team. They won just 6 matches out of the total 14 and ended up on the 6th position out of 8. In 2010, their terrible run continued and they slipped a place to finish 7th. It was heart-breaking to see the once mighty team withering away.

Controversies and Scandals

In 2011, Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab got embroiled in an ownership controversy. They were ejected by the BCCI but later reinstated due to a High Court order. With so much chaos, the team couldn’t really bounce back and never made it to the playoffs.

In 2013, the team managed to qualify for the playoffs, but lost to Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier and were thrown out of the league. They did manage to qualify for the Champions trophy by securing the third position.

Also Read: 5 Most Valuable Franchise in IPL

Rajasthan Royals Match Fixing Scandal

Three members of the Rajasthan Royals team- Sreesanth, Ajit Chandila, and Ankeet Chavan were arrested by Delhi Police for spot-fixing. There were reports that the players confessed about their role. The players were immediately suspended by Rajasthan Royals.

Former co-owner of Rajasthan Royals, Raj Kundra was also suspended and his shares were bought back by other owners. Subsequently, both teams- Rajasthan and Chennai were suspended for two years.


In the year 2018, the team was back in the IPL and ready to start afresh.

Discovering Talent

While most teams in the Indian Premier League spend crores to sign on the top names, Rajasthan Royals management has preferred discovering and supporting upcoming talent. The team has signed on relatively unknown names for frugal prices and turned them into cricketing stars. Most of these players have become permanent fixtures in their respective national teams and big names now.


Take the example of Australian cricketing sensation Shane Watson or Steve Smith. Closer home, Ajinkya Rahane, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson, and many others have come into the spotlight after their sensational performances in the IPL.

Also Read: 5 Funniest Moments in IPL 

Rajasthan Royals Anthem

“Halla Bol” is the war cry of the team. It has become their anthem as well. The phrase embodies their spirit, aggression, and courage in the face of adversity.

Rajasthan Royals Mascot

Moochu Singh, a lion, is the team’s mascot.

Rajasthan Royals Team Performance Over the Seasons

2009League – 6th
2010League – 7th
2011League – 6th
2012League – 7th
2013Playoffs – 3rd
2014League – 5th
2015Playoffs – 4th
2018Playoffs – 4th


Captains Through the Editions


Shane Warne2008 – 2011
Rahul Dravid2012 – 2013
Shane Watson2014 – 2015


Rajasthan Royals Awards and Achievements

Team of Firsts

  • First team to lift an IPL trophy
  • First team to have an overseas captain and coach
  • First team to have multiple home grounds
  • First team to play two exhibition games overseas
  • First team to have a home and away kit
  • First player to win Most Valuable Player award (Shane Watson)
  • First team to chase down a record score of 217
  • First team to start a designated YouTube Channel
  • First team to launch an electronic tablet

Rajasthan Royals Owners

Manoj Badale, the co-founder of Blenheim Chalcot, is the lead owner of Rajasthan Royals. He is also the Chairman of The British Asian Trust. Ranjit Barthukar is the Executive Chairman of the team. He has tremendous experience in managing and leading companies from a diverse range of industries. Other investors in the team include Lachlan Murdoch, Aditya S Chellaram, and Suresh Chelaram. The group bought the franchise for $67 million.

Rajasthan Royals Sponsors

The current sponsors of RR include JK Lakshmi, Jio, KEI, Inox, Alcis, and Dream11.

Kit Manufacturers: Reebok (2008, 2009), Puma (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014), Provogue (2015), TYKA Sports (2018), Alcis Sports (2019)

Shirt Sponsor (Front): Bajaj Allianz (2008), UltraTech Cement (2009, 2010), Floriana (2011), UltraTech Cement (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015), JK Lakshmi Pro+ Cement (2018, 2019)

Shirt Sponsor (Back): Royal Challenge (2008), HDFC Life (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012), Rupa (2013, 2014, 2015), Mitsubishi Heavy Industries (2018), Red Bull (2019)

Chest Branding: Reebok (2008), 7Up (2009), MOOV (2010), SuperTech (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014), Lawman Pg3 (2015), KEI Wires & Cables (2018, 2019)

Rajasthan Royals Social Media



For all the latest action on IPL, stay tuned with KreedOn.


We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on contact@kreedon.com .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here