HomeSportsCricketPujara Scores First T20 Century Against Railways in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
-- Advertisement --

Pujara Scores First T20 Century Against Railways in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

- Advertisement -

Indian Test team’s batting mainstay and the reliable Cheteshwar Pujara scored his first T20 century while playing for Saurashtra in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The right-hander slammed his maiden unbeaten ton in only 61 balls against the Railways at Holkar stadium in Indore on Thursday. Pujara also became the first Saurashtra batsman to hit a T20 century.

-- Advertisement --

Pujara’s brilliant knock included a total of 14 boundaries and a six. His previous best was a 55-ball 81 against Jammu and Kashmir in the same tournament in 2016. Pujara has played 58 T20 games and scored 1096 runs at an average of 25.48 and strike rate of 105.18.

-- Advertisement --

Saurashtra vs Railways: As it happened

Batting first, Saurashtra made 188/3 in their 20 overs. Openers Pujara and wicketkeeper-batsman Harvik Desai piled up 85 for the first wicket. Desai made 34 off 24 balls including 6 boundaries. Number 3 Robin Uthappa hit 48 off 31 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes. For Railways, Amit Mishra, Ashish Yadav and Anureet Singh picked up a wicket each.

However, Pujara’s century couldn’t come in a winning cause for the Gujarat side as the Railways chased down the total with 2 balls to spare. Railways openers Mrunal Devdhar – 49 (20) and Pratham Singh – 40 (30) gave a solid start. Later, wickets fell in quick succession but Abhinav Dixit’s 37* (30), Ashish Yadav’s 24 (16) and Harsh Tyagi’s 16* (7) sealed it for Railways.

-- Advertisement --

For the Ranji Trophy runner ups Saurashtra, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja picked up 2 wickets while Chetan Sakariya and Prerak Mankad picked up a wicket each.

Shreyas Iyer Scores 154, Powers Mumbai to 258-4

Shreyas Iyer got stuck into debutants Sikkim and helped himself to 147 – the highest score by an Indian batsman in T20 cricket.

24-year-old Shreyas brought up his half-century off 24 balls and needed only 14 more deliveries to reach his maiden hundred in T20 cricket.

He surpassed the record of Rishabh Pant, who had scored an unbeaten 128 for Delhi Daredevils. His 147 is also the 12th highest score by a batsman in the T20 cricket history.

-- Advertisement --

Brief scores:

Himachal 167/8 vs Vidarbha 171/7: Vidarbha won by 3 wickets

Baroda 101/2 v Tripura 100: Baroda Won by 8 Wickets

Mumbai 258/4 vs Sikkim 104/7: Mumbai Won by 154 Runs

Kerala 186/5 vs Manipur 103/7: Kerala Won by 83 Runs

Services 164/5 vs Uttarakhand 165/7: Uttarakhand Won by 3 Wickets

Bengal 221/4 vs Mizoram 62: Bengal Won by 159 Runs

Haryana 110/2 vs Arunachal Pradesh 106/6: Haryana Won by 8 Wickets

Tamil Nadu 128 vs Rajasthan 181/4 : Rajasthan Won by 53 Runs

Gujarat 146/8 vs Meghalaya 133/8: Gujarat Won by 13 Runs

Railways 190/5 vs Saurashtra 188/3: Railways Won by 5 Wickets

Maharashtra 149/5 vs Uttar Pradesh 137: Maharashtra Won by 12 Runs

Hyderabad 156/9 vs Pondicherry 159/6: Pondicherry Won by 3 Runs

Chhattisgarh 138/0 vs Odisha 137: Chhattisgarh Won by 10 Wickets

Assam 154/7 vs Karnataka 169/6: Karnataka Won by 15 Runs

J & K 142/1 vs Nagaland 136/6: J & K Won by 9 Wickets

Delhi 155/5 vs Jharkhand 158/4: Jharkhand Won by 3 Runs

For the latest updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here