HomeNewsPWL 4: Haryana Hammers Emerges As The Title Winner After Beating Punjab...
-- Advertisement --

PWL 4: Haryana Hammers Emerges As The Title Winner After Beating Punjab Royals 6-3

- Advertisement -

It was a lucky day for Haryana Hammers as they beat Punjab Royals by 6-3 to win the Pro Wrestling League (PWL) Season 4 title at the Gautam Buddha University Indoor Stadium in Greater Noida, on Thursday.

-- Advertisement --

Riding on Aleksander Khotsianivski, Ali Shabanov, Kiran, Ravi Kumar and Anastasia Nichita’s dominating performance; Haryana Hammers turned the tables by winning all the first five bouts of the evening to clinch the title.

-- Advertisement --

Haryana’s performance was so dominating that Punjab’s campaign ended even before their star player Bajrang Punia could take the stage. The Asian Games gold medallist Punia scored an impressive 11-0 win over Rajneesh. Alas! too late for their team.

Haryana Hammers vs Punjab Royals PWL Final

It was Khotsianivski of Ukraine who put the Hammers on the road to victory by winning the 125kg super heavyweight bout against Canadian Korey Jarvis 3-0. Shabanov got his revenge and also broke Dato Marsagishvili’s unbeaten run to win the men’s 86kg bout 4-3 and give his team a 2-0 lead.

-- Advertisement --

The 2018 CWG bronze medallist Kiran made it 3-0 for Haryana Hammers defeating the 2018 European Championships bronze medallist France’s Cynthia Vescan 3-1 in the women’s 76kg category. After that, the 2018 World U23 Championships silver medallist Ravi put Haryana 4-0 ahead in the tie after his comprehensive 8-0 win over Nitin Rathi.

The World junior champion Anastasia won it for Haryana Hammers after she came back from 2-4 deficit to beat  Mimi Hristova to clinch the bout and the tie.

In the remaining bouts, Punjab’s Amit Dhankar won the 74kg contest against Praveen Rana 5-2. Anju added one more win to Punjab’s tally defeating Seema 10-5 in the 53kg category. Haryana’s Tatyana Omelchenko won the women’s 62kg category bout against Seema 9-0 to complete Haryana’s winning tally.

-- Advertisement --


125 kg (M): Aleksander Khotsianivski (Haryana Hammers) beat Korey Jarvis (Punjab Royals)

86 kg (M): Ali Shabanov (Haryana Hammers) beat Dato Marsagishvili (Punjab Royals)

76 kg (F): Kiran (Haryana Hammers) beat Cynthia Vescan (Punjab Royals)

57 kg (M): Ravi Kumar (Haryana Hammers) beat Nitin Rathi (Punjab Royals)

57 kg (F): Anastasia Nichita (Haryana Hammers) beat Mimi Hristova (Punjab Royals)

65 kg (M): Rajneesh (Haryana Hammers) lost to Bajrang Punia (Punjab Royals)

74 kg (M): Praveen Rana (Haryana Hammers) lost to Amit Dhankar (Punjab Royals)

53 kg (F): Seema ((Haryana Hammers) lost to Anju (Punjab Royals)

62 kg (F): Tatyana Omelchenko (Haryana Hammers) beat Anita (Punjab Royals)

For the latest updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Bhawna Kothari
Bhawna Kothari
Lover of cultures, varied colors, and underdogs, Bhawna is a by-heart and professional playwright. Hailing from a journalism & communication background, she incorporates a careful study at both flips of the coin which is essentially required to be analytical in thoughts and words. Actively abreast of the current affairs around the globe, she likes knowing and bringing into light the unexplored. Problem solving via the power of content is what inspires her and hence KreedOn, a platform created for the betterment of sports ecosystem in India, is now her happy workplace!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here