HomeSportsBadmintonPBL 4: Bengaluru Raptors Beat Awadhe Warriors 4-2, Enter Finals

PBL 4: Bengaluru Raptors Beat Awadhe Warriors 4-2, Enter Finals

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

Home advantage or form – Call it whatever you want. But Bengaluru Raptors charged into the final of the Premier Badminton League season 4 with a thrilling 4-2 win over Awadhe Warriors in the first semi-final clash at the Sree Kanteerava Indoor Stadium, Bengaluru on Friday.

It was Bengaluru’s in-form men’s singles pair Kidambi Srikanth and Sai Praneeth who once again carried their team to a triumph quite single-handedly with an outstanding performance.

-- Advertisement --

Of the two, it was Srikanth’s heroics that was more impressive as he strolled past a superior-ranked World No. 5 Ho Son in the fourth match of the evening. That extended his unbeaten run in the competition with seven consecutive victories. Praneeth too made light of facing Dong Keun, winning in his own sixth consecutive match.

Also Read | PBL 4: Bengaluru Raptors Beat Chennai, Enter Semifinals

Bengaluru Raptors vs Awadhe Warriors: As it happened

-- Advertisement --

The exciting semi final match started on a positive note for the table toppers Awadhe Warriors, who won the first mixed double match by 2-0. It was their trump match and the shuttling duo of M Christiansen and Ashwini Ponnappa ensured that their team made the most of it.

However, the leading team hit a wall of kinds, as they lost Lee Keun and Son Ho lost to Sai Praneeth and Kidambi Srikanth in consecutive matches.

-- Advertisement --
-- Advertisement --

With the match stood tied at 2-2, it was the Raptors who had the momentum with them, having won two matches on the trot.

The hosts’ men’s doubles duo of Hendra Setiawan and Mohammed Ahsan then sealed the fate of the contest with a 15-14, 15-9 triumph over Warriors’ pair of Mathias Christiansen and Yang Lee. As it was a trump match, Bengaluru led the contest by an unassailable 4-2 scoreline. As a result, the inconsequential fifth match of the evening, the women’s singles match between Bengaluru’s Vu Thi and Awadhe’s B. Zhang, was not held.

Bengaluru will be contesting in the final tomorrow with the winner of the second semi-final. Hyderabad Hunters will take on Mumbai Rockets today in the second semifinal.

Final Results:

Bengaluru Raptors 4-2 Awadhe Warriors

Marcus Ellis – Lauren Smith 2-0 Christiansen Mathias – Ashwini Ponnappa (Trump Match) | 10-15, 7-15

Sai Praneeth 2-0 Lee Dong Keun | 15-9, 15-4

Srikanth 2-0 Ho Son | 15-7, 15-10

Mohammed Ahsan – Hendra Setiawan (Trump Match) 2-0 Yang Lee – Mathias Christiansen 15-14, 15-9

For more updates on PBL, stay tuned to KreedOn, the Voice of Indian Sports

-- Advertisement --
Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now. Click the link above
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya is the Head of Content at KreedOn. He is a thorough tech-enthusiast and believes that innovation is the answer to all the problems prevalent in the society. Monish graduated from University of Pune with a degree in Civil Engineering before pursuing a post-graduate diploma course in intellectual property rights. A die-hard football fan, he has represented his college at various football competitions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --