HomeSportsBadmintonPBL Auctions: PV Sindhu, Tai Tzu attract the highest bids
-- Advertisement --

PBL Auctions: PV Sindhu, Tai Tzu attract the highest bids

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

Reigning World champion PV Sindhu and Chinese Taipei shuttler Tai Tzu Ying were sold for the joint-highest figure of ₹ 77 lakh as the curtains dropped on the auction for the fifth season of the Premier Badminton League.

While the Olympian attracted the humongous bid after being retained by Hyderabad Hunters, current World number 1 Ying was bought by defending champions Bengaluru Raptors in the aftermath of a bidding war with Pune 7 Aces.

-- Advertisement --

However, this was expected considering the duo’s performances this season. What surprised everyone was the throat cut bidding for India’s young doubles star Satwiksairaj Rankireddy. The 19-year-old, who had won the Thailand Open back in August with Chirag Shetty, was eventually scalped by the Chennai Superstarz for a mind-boggling ₹62 lakhs.

“I am really happy to be a part of the Chennai team. I have many friends in Chennai and I am looking forward to play there. Every time we have played here the crowd has been exceptional and to represent them this season will surely be something that I am looking forward to,” Rankireddy said.

Elsewhere, Korean doubles star Ko Sung Hyun and world no. 24 (singles) Lee Cheuk Yiu of Hong Kong were the only other shuttlers who managed to cross the ₹ 50 lakh milestone. The world No. 22 went to Awadhe Warriors for a sum of ₹ 55 lakhs whereas the latter was bought by the North Eastern Warriors for ₹ 50 lakhs.

-- Advertisement --

Mumbai Rockets managed to get Parupalli Kashyap for ₹ 43 lakhs whereas Lakshya Sen, who won four titles in the last three months, was bought by Chennai for Rs 36 lakhs.

The likes of Saina Nehwal and Kidambi Srikanth pulled out of the event in order to focus on their international careers.

The next edition of PBL will see a total of 74 Indian shuttlers in action from January 20 to February 9.

-- Advertisement --


PUNE ACES- Hendra Setiawan, Tse Ting Suet, Chris Adcock, M.R. Arjun- Chirag Shetty, Thi Trang Vu, Kuhoo Garg, Mithun Manjunath, Kazumasa Sakai, Rituparna Das, Loh Kean Yew

HYDERABAD HUNTERS- Vladimir Ivanov, Sourabh Verma, Ben Lane, N. Sikki Reddy, P.V. Sindhu, Daren Liew, Kiran George, Ruthvika Shivani Gade, Siki Reddy, Sean Vendy

BENGALURU RAPTORS- Tai Tzu Ying, B. Sai Praneeth, Brice Leverdez, Tak Ching Chang, Arun George, Eom Hye Won, Chan Peng Soon, Ansal Yadav, Medha Shashidharan

MUMBAI ROCKETS- Kim Sa Rang, Parupalli Kashyap, Pia Zebadiah, Jessica Pugh, Shreyansh Jaiswal, Shlok Ramachandran, Lee Dong Keun, Pranav Jerry Chopra, Shriyanshi Pardeshi, Kim Ji Yung

AWADHE WARRIORS- Ko Sung Hun, Ajay Jayaram, van Sozonov, Tanvi Lad, Shin Baek Cheol, Christinna Pedersen, Subankar Dey, Wong Win Ki Vincent, Beiwen Zhang

CHENNAI SUPERSTARZ- Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Sankar Muthusamy- Lakshya Sen, Sanjana Santosh, Kirsty Gilmour, Manu Attri, Gabrielle Adcock, Gayatri Gopichand, Tommy Sugiarto, K. Sathish Kumar, B. Sumeeth Reddy

NORTH EASTERN WARRIORS- Ashmita Chaliha,  Rutuparna Panda, Michelle Li, Lee Yong Dae, Kim Ha Na, Lee Cheuk Yiu, Krishna Garaga, TanongsakKaushal Dharmamer, Bodin Isara,

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here