HomeNewsNew Year, Same Accuracy: Indian Shooters begin 2020 by dominating Meyton Cup
-- Advertisement --

New Year, Same Accuracy: Indian Shooters begin 2020 by dominating Meyton Cup

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

Indian shooters have started 2020 with a bang! Apurvi Chandela and Divyansh Singh Panwar won gold medals in the women and men’s 10 m air rifle events at the Meyton Cup 2020. The Meyton Cup 2020 was held in Innsbruck, Austria between 17 January and 21 January. Both Chandela and Singh had sealed their Olympic quota last year itself.

After winning a gold and bronze in 2019 Meyton Cup, 27-year-old Apurvi shot the third-best qualification score of 630.1. The world number 3 shooter then impressed in the finals, scoring 251.3 to win the gold medal. Apurvi won with a small margin of 0.2 points over Great Britain’s Seonaid Mcintosh. 

-- Advertisement --
Apurvi Chandela Anjum MoudgiL 2020 Meyton Cup KreedOn

Olympic Quota winner Anjum Moudgil won the bronze after finishing with 229 points. Diyansh Singh Panwar shot 249.7 in the men’s 10 m air rifle event finals to win the gold medal. The 17-year-old from Jaipur won with a difference of 0.7 points over Australia’s Dane Sampson. The bronze place was snapped up with Deepak Kumar with 629.4 points.


Men’s 10m Air Rifle Finals 

Gold: Divyansh Singh Panwar (India) 249.7 (628.4); Silver: Dane Sampson (Australia) 249.0 (628.3); Bronze: Deepak Kumar (India) 228.3 (629.4)

-- Advertisement --

Women’s 10m Air Rifle Finals

Gold: Apurvi Chandela (India) 251.4 (630.1); Silver: Seonaid Mcintosh (Great Britain) 251.2 (629.7); Bronze: Anjum Moudgil (India) 229.0 (630.1).

Indian Shooters on road to Tokyo

All four of them- Apurvi, Divyansh, Anjum and Deepak had an iconic 2019 and have already sealed their spots for Tokyo Olympics 2020. They were a part of the Indian shooting contingent that finished first on the overall medal tally with 30 medals at the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Cup. 

Apurvi Chandela Anjum MoudgiL 2020 Meyton Cup KreedOn

Apurvi Chandela and Anjum Moudgil were the amongst the first shooters to qualify for the Tokyo Games.

-- Advertisement --

Divyansh Singh booked his Olympic quota with a silver medal at the 2019 ISSF World Cup in New Delhi. Divyansh missed the gold by just 0.4 points. But it was enough for him to start working for this year’s mega event.

With at least 15 shooters, this year’s Shooting Contingent is the largest ever India will be sending at the Olympics. Saurabh Chaudhary, Rahi Sarnobat, Abhishek Verma, Manu Bhaker, Yashaswini Deswal, Sanjeev Rajput, Chinki Yadav, Tejaswini Sawant, Aishwarya Singh Tomar, Angad Bajwa and Mairaj Ahmad Khan are the other shooters in the team.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Manan Dharamshi
Manan Dharamshi
I usually describe myself with three 'F's, i.e, Food, Football and Films. Born and Brought up in Bangalore since the mid-1990s, I have always had a huge interest in playing football, cricket and watching other sports. People who know me always tell I bleed football. Sports, and Football, in particular, has helped me through hard times and helped me to shape my view on the world. And that is one of the reasons why I want to serve as a Sports Journalist.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here