-- Advertisement --
Home Sports Cricket Who has won the most man of the match in IPL history-...

Who has won the most man of the match in IPL history- Complete list of top 23 players from 2008 – 2021

most man of the match in IPL | KreedOn
Image Source: sweep cricket

The Indian Premier League is the most extravagant and competitive domestic cricket league in the world. All the best players in the world compete for the trophy for a period of 2-3 months. The upcoming 15th season of the TATA IPL is like no other. This year 2 new IPL teams will be fighting for the race of IPL trophy. This means a total of 10 teams will compete in the world’s biggest cricket league. Here are the top 23 players with Most Man of The Match in IPL history.

-- Advertisement --

IPL is such an event where not only the players but the audience can show their skills off the field on betting and fantasy teams. As the trend of IPL fantasy is on the rise, one needs to know about the player’s stats and track records. But the overall fan favorites are the players raking in the prestigious Man of The Match Award more than often in the League.

List of players with the most man of the match in IPL history

Rank Name IPL Team International Team No. of Man of the Match Awards
1 AB de Villiers Royal Challengers Bangalore South Africa 25
2 Chris Gayle Kings XI Punjab West Indies 22
3 Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians India 18
4 David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad Australia 17
5 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Chennai Super Kings India 17
6 Yusuf Pathan Sunrisers Hyderabad India 16
7 Shane Watson Chennai Super Kings Australia 16
8 Suresh Raina Chennai Super Kings India 14
9 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore India 13
10 Ajinkya Rahane Delhi Capitals India 12
11 Gautam Gambhir Delhi Capitals (Retd.) India 12
12 Michael Hussey Chennai Super Kings Australia 12
13 Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders West Indies 11
14 Amit Mishra Delhi Capitals India 11
15 Dwyane Smith Gujarat Lions West Indiea 11
16 KL Rahul Lucknow Super Giants  IndiIndiaa 10
17 Virender Sehwag DC (Retd.)  India 10
18 Ajinkya Rahane KKR  India 10
19 Gautam Gambhir KKR (Retd)  India 09
20 Yusuf Pathan KKR (Retd)  India 09
21 Shaun Marsh PBKS  Australia 09
22 Shane Watson Retd  Australia 09
23 Rashid Khan Gujarat Titans  Afghanistan 08

Most Man of The Match in IPL: AB De Villiers’: 25 | Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Daredevils

Image Source: Credits Sky Sports

The South African Batsman has earned a whopping 25 man of the match awards in IPL in his career. ABD often plays as a middle-order Batsman. Since 2011, the RCB bought and bred batsman has a total of 5106 runs in 181 IPL matches. ABD has a monstrous strike rate of 152.2 and is an asset to RCB. Even after retiring from international cricket, he is a top-class player and is on top of the list of most man of the match in IPL history.

-- Advertisement --

Most Man of The Match in IPL History: Chris Gayle: 22 | Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore

Image Source: Cricket Country

The giant Caribbean batsman is one of the most entertaining player in the T20 format. Gayle can destroy any team’s bowling lineup on a given day. He has raked in a total of 22 man of the match awards in IPL so far. He is known for his flamboyant batting style. The West Indies International has scored 4965 runs in 142 IPL matches with an average of 40. His consistency in the format has been unmatched with a strike rate of almost 150. He stands 2nd in the list of most man of the match in IPL.

Rohit Sharma: 18 | Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers

Image Source: indiatvnes.com

The Indian opener is one of the most successful and iconic players in IPL history. Rohit Sharma is also known as Hitman for obvious reasons. The power hitter has a total of 18 man of the match awards so far. The Mumbai local hero has scored 5571 runs in 211 IPL matches. Hitman Rohit has led Mumbai to a record 5 titles since taking over captaincy 2013. He has a good average of over 30 runs. Sharma is also the only Indian with most man of the man of the match in IPL. He is leading MI in the 15th edition of the tournament.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni: 17 | Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiant

Image Source: Zee News

The man of the match list cannot be complete without this icon. The Indian wicket-keeper Batsman is a legend in the IPL. He signed for CSK in the first season in 2008 for $1.5 million, the most expensive player that year. Dhoni has won a total of 17 man of the match in IPL awards. He has scored 4716 runs in 217 IPL matches. Dhoni’s calm temperament and dynamic tactics led the yellow army to glory 3 times. He also managed to get the 2 season replacement Pune outfit to the 2017 final. 

The former India captain is already on top of the list of most matches played in the IPL.

David Warner: 17 | Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Daredevils 

Image Source: wallpapercave

The Australian opener is one of the most successful batsmen in the IPL. The Sydney-born Talisman has 17 man of the match in IPL awards to his name alongside MS Dhoni. Warner has scored 5449 runs in 150 IPL matches. This player always delivers on the big stage. He currently opens for SRH and has a strike rate of 140. He led the Hyderabad outfit to its first and only title in 2016. Warner has also won the coveted orange cap a record 3 times.

For more interesting content on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

-- Advertisement -- Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now. Click the link above
Currently pursuing BBA in sports management, Passionate about sports who is also into fashion and sports writing. Ardent football and motorsports fan of FC Goa, Real Madrid and Scuderia Ferrari respectively



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version