HomeSportsCricketIPL Finals Man of the Match: Celebrating the Standout Performances in Cricket’s...
-- Advertisement --

IPL Finals Man of the Match: Celebrating the Standout Performances in Cricket’s Biggest Stage

- Advertisement -

As people all over the world enjoy watching the Indian Premier League (IPL), we can’t help but notice the amazing players who really shine during the final matches. Since the IPL started in 2008, each final game has had a standout player who’s recognized as the best performer. Let’s take a look back at these special players who made history with their incredible performances and won man of the match in the IPL finals.

-- Advertisement --

Man of the Match in IPL Finals

Year Team Player
2008 RR Yusuf Pathan
2009 RCB Anil Kumble
2010 CSK Suresh Raina
2011 CSK Murali Vijay
2012 KKR Manvinder Bisla
2013 MI Kieron Pollard
2014 KKR Manish Pandey
2015 MI Rohit Sharma
2016 SRH Ben Cutting
2017 MI Krunal Pandya
2018 CSK Shane Watson
2019 MI Jasprit Bumrah
2020 MI Trent Boult
2021 CSK Faf du Plessis
2022 GT Hardik Pandya
2023 CSK Devon Conway

Yusuf Pathan (2008)

Yusuf Pathan - IPL Final 2008 Man of the Match | KreedOn
Image Source: India Times

In the first IPL ever, there were many famous players from around the world, but the spotlight fell on an Indian player who had improved a lot. His name was Yusuf Pathan, not so famous back then. But in the final match between Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals, he showed his skills.

Yusuf did well in both bowling and batting. He took three important wickets in the first half of the game. Then, when it was Rajasthan’s turn to bat, they were struggling. But Yusuf came in and scored a brilliant 56 runs, which helped his team a lot. The match came down to the last ball, but Rajasthan won with calmness. Even though Rajasthan Royals didn’t spend much money on their team, they had a great leader in Shane Warne. And Yusuf Pathan played a huge part in leading them to victory, showing that you don’t always need expensive players to win.

Anil Kumble (2009)

Anil Kumble | KreedOn
Image Source: India Times

In 2009, during the IPL, there was a big cricket match where two new teams reached the final. The Royal Challengers Bangalore lost to the Deccan Chargers. Anil Kumble, a player for RCB, did really well and got the Man of the Match award. After that game, more leg-spin bowlers started to bowl in the early part of the match.

Anil Kumble bowled really well against Adam Gilchrist, a famous player, and didn’t let him score any runs. He also got Andrew Symonds out, another famous player. The Chargers team struggled to score runs because of Kumble’s good bowling. Rohit Sharma and Venugopal Rao also got out because of Kumble’s good bowling.

The Chargers team scored 143 runs, and Anil Kumble took four wickets for just 16 runs. Even though RCB didn’t win easily, Kumble’s great bowling deserved the Man of the Match award.

Best ipl team | KreedOnAlso Read | Top 5 IPL Teams with the Most Wins | Bow Down to the Kings

Suresh Raina (2010)

Suresh Raina - IPL Finals Man of the Match | KreedOn
Image Source:

In 2010, the Chennai Super Kings became really successful, especially because of Suresh Raina, who became one of the best batsmen in the IPL. In the final match against the Mumbai Indians, Raina played a big role by scoring 57 runs without getting out. He did this in just 35 balls, hitting three fours and three sixes. The final match wasn’t close – Mumbai Indians lost by 22 runs. Raina also helped defend Chennai’s score by getting Harbhajan Singh out and catching Saurabh Tiwary. Chennai Super Kings won their first IPL title by playing aggressively and smartly, and Raina’s performance was a big part of it, especially since he made the only fifty in the final match.

Click Here To Continue Reading

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here