Home Top Picks Check Out The Top 5 lowest scores in IPL History

Check Out The Top 5 lowest scores in IPL History

The briefest form of the game, Indian Premier League (IPL) is considered generally for the batsmen. However, throughout the seasons, we have seen extraordinary performances with the ball and low scores being defended wonderfully.

In these sorts of matches, the credit totally goes to the bowlers and the fielders who give their everything to restrict a team to the most reduced total possible.

It might look really simple, but low-scoring matches are in some cases harder to win than high-scoring ones, since lack of concern and over-confidence may turn the game around at any given point of time.

Also Read: Top 5 Highest Scores in IPL

Here we enrol the top five lowest scores in  IPL history:

lowest scores in IPL
Image Source: Twitter

49 all out (KKR vs RCB), 23rd April 2017, Eden Gardens, Kolkata

IPL 2019
Virat Kohli’s 3rd golden duck and Royal Challengers Bangalore 49 all-out in 9.4 overs. Image Source: India Today

IPL history was made at Eden Gardens as Royal Challengers Bangalore were bowled out for the most reduced total in the competition.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings (target: 132 runs from 20 overs)

Pursuing 132, RCB were bowled out for only 48; three players were expelled for a duck and nobody got into double digits. Colin de Grandhomme, Nathan Coulter-Nile, and Chris Woakes all got three wickets each to condemn RCB to an 82-run defeat.

Well, would you believe it? A batting lineup containing Gayle, Kohli, AB de Villiers has been shot out for the most minimal IPL score ever. Not one batsman figured out how to get into double digits.

RCB just couldn’t deal with the weight and were overwhelmed by the aggregate bowling flame of NCN, Woakes, Umesh and de Grandhomme on a pitch which had certainly spruced up with the little evening sprinkle.

58 all out (RR vs RCB), 18th April 2009, Cape Town

IPL 2019
Credits: The Hindu

It was a day for the bowlers at Cape Town as Praveen Kumar and Jesse Ryder got a few wickets each to gain a triumph for Bangalore. Anil Kumble was the pick of the bowlers as he came back with match figures of 3.1– 1-5– 5.

Rajasthan Royals Innings

Be that as it may, Rahul Dravid was declared the Player of the Match for his best score of 66 in RCB’s innings of 133.

 66 all out (DD versus MI), 6th May 2017, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Delhi Daredevils were totally disassembled before their fans as spin twins Harbhajan Singh and Karn Sharma spun a web around the batsmen. In the wake of choosing to bowl first, Delhi wound up stuck in an unfortunate situation with Pollard and Simmons’ fireworks driving Mumbai to 213.

In answer, the Delhi batting broke with Harbhajan grabbing 3/22 and Karn Sharma returning figures of 3/11.

Delhi Daredevils Innings (target 213 runs from 20 overs)

Mumbai Indians bowlers destroyed through the batting line of Delhi Daredevils (DD) and beat them by an immense edge of 146 runs. After this success, Mumbai qualified for the Play-offs with 18 points.

67 all out (DD versus KXIP), 30 April 2017, Chandigarh, Punjab

Corey Anderson, Kagiso Rabada and Karun Nair were the main batsmen to get into double figures as a shambolic batting exhibition from Delhi saw them being bowled out for only 67 in 17.1 overs in Punjab. Sandeep Sharma got 4 wickets while Axar Patel and Varun Aaron got 2 each.

Opener Martin Guptill struck an unbeaten 50 as Kings XI Punjab topped their bowlers’ control of Delhi Daredevils with a 10-wicket win in their IPL 2017 conflict.

Delhi Daredevils drooped to their most minimal IPL all out. Their prior lowest was 80 hard and fast in 19.1 overs against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013.

67 all out (KKR versus MI), 16th May 2008, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

IPL 2019
KKR vs MI. Credits: The Indian Express

The MI bowlers went through the delicate KKR batting line-up with an ideal showcase of bowling. In answer, the Knight Riders looked hapless as they acknowledged a mortifying thrashing because of Sanath Jayasuriya.

Salman Butt and Aakash Chopra opened the KKR innings however both lost their wickets in the beginning times to put the guests stuck in an unfortunate situation.

Sourav Ganguly and Ajit Agarkar endeavoured to take the group’s total to 3 digits, but the MI bowled the whole side out for a sum of 67 runs.

Sanath Jayasuriya played an innings of 48 keeps running off only 17 balls to help the home side register a triumph inside the obligatory powerplay itself.

Shaun Pollock was the Player of the Match for his three essential wickets while giving endlessly just 12 runs.

For the latest updates on Indian sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Sanchita Gupta
A bibliophile and a polygot, Sanchita has been a writer for more than six months, having touched almost all genres. She has an Economics (Hons) degree and is currently pursuing CFA (US), FRM (US) and Actuarial Science. Even though her profession revolves around the field of finance, Sanchita is an ardent lover of sports and loves to live her dream of being creative with words in the field of sports. She is a creative, energetic, ambitious person who loves learning new things, both for career advancement and personal growth.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Indian Super league 2019