HomeSportsCricketTATA IPL 2022 | Complete List of Players who took Hattricks in...
-- Advertisement --

TATA IPL 2022 | Complete List of Players who took Hattricks in IPL History

- Advertisement -

One would normally associate a professional hattrick with the best of international bowlers. But do you know India’s very own “Hitman” Rohit Sharma has hattricks in IPL against Mumbai Indians – the team he would go on to lead to a record five titles?

-- Advertisement --

Getting three batsmen out off consecutive deliveries requires immense precision and concentration. Yuvraj Singh, however, made it all seem like a cakewalk when he picked up two hat-tricks in the same season!

Complete List of Players who took most hattricks in IPL history

Amit Mishra 3 (most hat tricks in IPL)
Yuvraj Singh 2
Makhaya Ntini 1
Ajit Chandila 1
Samuel Badree 1
Sam Curran 1
Rohit Sharma 1
Andrew Tye 1
Pravin Tambe 1
Shreyas Gopal 1
Lakshmipathy Balaji 1
Jaydev Unadkat 1
Axar Patel 1
Shane Watson 1
Praveen Kumar 1
Sunil Narine 1

Players who took Hattricks in IPL 2008: Lakshmipathy Balaji, Amit Mishra, Makhaya Ntini

Lakshmipathy Balaji | KreedOn
Image Source: Indian Express

Three players bagged hat-tricks in the IPL’s first season. Balaji made history when he grabbed a hattricks in IPL against Punjab Kings, becoming the first player in the cash-rich league to do so.

Most hat tricks in IPL: Amit Mishra of the Delhi Daredevils recorded the first of his three hattricks in IPL against the Deccan Chargers, while Ntini of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) struck a hat-trick against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

READ | Top 10 most expensive IPL players

Players who took Hattricks in IPL 2009: Yuvraj Singh (x2), Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma IPL hat-trick | KreedOn
Image Source: Times Now

The 2009 edition had the same number of hattricks in IPL as the first edition, although not by three different players.

Yuvraj of PBKS earned two hat-tricks in the competition on two consecutive occasions. The first was against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), but it was in a loss. His second hat-trick against the Chargers, on the other hand, was vital in getting his team across the finish line.

Rohit, who may be the most out-of-place name on this list, was the second player to bag a hat-trick in 2009. Few expected the “Hitman,” who is known for his powerful hitting, to get a hat-trick. He was a Chargers player at the time, and his hat-trick came against MI, a squad he would eventually lead to five IPL victories. 

Player who took Hattrick in IPL 2010: Praveen Kumar

Praveen Kumar | KreedOn
Image Source: TOI

Only one hattrick was recorded in the 2010 tournament, which was accomplished by RCB’s Kumar. The match was played against Rajasthan Royals (RR), who were bowled out for 92 runs on the night. Bangalore, unconcerned, quickly pursued the objective. 

READ | Cricket in the Olympics? How does the road look like?

Player who took Hattrick in IPL 2011: Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra | Hattricks in IPL | KreedOn
Image Source: Indian Express

Most hat tricks in IPL: Amit Mishra, the uncontested king of hattricks in IPL, added his second against PBKS in 2011. Then, with the Chargers, Mishra’s bowling prowess helped the team thrash Punjab by 82 runs.

Player who took Hattrick in IPL 2012: Ajit Chandila

Ajit Chandila | KreedOn
Image Source: ESPN

Like the previous year, the 2012 IPL featured only one hat-trick, which was struck by RR’s Chandila against the Pune Warriors India (PWI).

Chandila’s hattrick in IPL assisted Rajasthan defend its total of 170 points in a tight playoff qualifying fight.

After becoming entangled in a spot-fixing controversy, the talented spinner was banned for life by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

READ | Top 9 Indian Athletes Tattoos: Meet the Icons of Style & Glory

Players who took Hattrick in IPL 2013: Amit Mishra, Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine | KreedOn
Image Source: Indian Express

Mishra made news once again in 2013 while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), this time for becoming the first player to capture three hattricks in IPL.

Sunil Narine, the KKR mystery spinner, also got his first and only hat-trick in the T20 epic game against Punjab, but it was in vain.

Players who took Hattricks in IPL 2014: Pravin Tambe, Shane Watson

Shane Watson | hat trick in ipl | KreedOn

Two players from the same team achieved hat tricks in IPL in the 2014 IPL.

The opening match was between RR leg-spinner Tambe and KKR. He aided in throwing Kolkata’s pursuit off course, allowing Rajasthan to win.

The second, which Watson claimed against SRH, wasn’t enough, as Hyderabad put on a show of its own, defending their 134-run total by bowling RR out for 102.

Player who took Hattrick in IPL 2015: Axar Patel

Axar Patel | Most hattricks in IPL | KreedOn
Image Source: India Today

After the just ended Test series between India and England, when he took 27 wickets in four Tests, Axar was the talk of the town.

He not only got a hattrick in IPL in the 2016 season, but he also drew attention with a four-for in only five balls vs Gujarat Lions (GL).

READ | All Cricket Fielding Positions Names and Explanation

Hat trick in IPL 2017: Samuel Badree, Andrew Tye and Jaydev Unadkat

Jaydev Unadkat | Hattricks in IPL | KreedOn
Image Source: Sportzwiki

For the second year in a row, the IPL saw three hat-tricks in a single season.

The first was Badree’s four-wicket haul, but it was in vain as RCB failed to defend a score of 142.

Tye got his second hat-trick for the Gujarat Lions against the Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS). Unadkat took the final hat-trick of the season against SRH.

Hat trick in IPL 2019: Sam Curran, Shreyas Gopal

Sam Curran | Hattricks in IPL | KreedOn

Curran, a PBKS player, completed the first hat-trick of the 2019 season, assisting his side to a low-scoring drama victory over Delhi.

In a game marred by rain, Gopal’s hat-trick over RCB made him the 19th player in IPL history to record a hat-trick.

Player who took Hattrick in IPL 2021: Harshal Patel

My role with the bat is to get as many boundaries as I can: RCB all-rounder Harshal Patel- The New Indian Express

IPL Hattricks year wise complete table 2008 – 2021

Name of Player to take hattrick Bowling Figures Opponents IPL Year
Lakshmipathy Balaji 5/24 KXIP 2008
Amit Mishra 5/17 DEC 2008
Makhaya Ntini 4/21 KKR 2008
Yuvraj Singh 3/22 RCB 2009
Rohit Sharma 4/6 MI 2009
Yuvraj Singh 3/13 DEC 2009
Praveen Kumar 3/18 RR 2010
Amit Mishra 4/9 KXIP 2011
Ajit Chandila 4/13 PWI 2012
Sunil Narine 3/33 KXIP 2013
Amit Mishra 4/19 PWI 2013
Pravin Tambe 3/26 KKR 2014
Shane Watson 3/13 SRH 2014
Axar Patel 4/21 GL 2016
Samuel Badree 4/9 MI 2017
Andrew Tye 5/17 RPS 2017
Jaydev Unadkat 5/30 SRH 2017
Sam Curran 4/11 DC 2019
Shreyas Gopal 3/12 RCB 2019
Harshal Patel 4/17 RCB 2021

[For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to the KreedOn network today-

KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport]

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here