HomeEventsAsia Cup 2023Complete List of Asia Cup Winners | Do you know who won...
-- Advertisement --

Complete List of Asia Cup Winners | Do you know who won the 1st Asia Cup?

- Advertisement -

The Asia Cup, a premier cricket event, is the solitary continental competition in the sport exclusively played among cricketing nations from the Asian continent. This prestigious tournament has gained significant popularity over the years, bringing together nations renowned for their cricketing prowess and fierce competition on the field. In recent years, the cricketing giant India has emerged as a dominant force in the Asia Cup, showcasing exemplary skill, strategy, and determination to clinch victory. With a formidable lineup and a rich cricketing heritage, India consistently raises the bar and sets high standards for the tournament. The team’s unparalleled success has made them a formidable force, instilling a sense of determination to continue their reign and uphold their winning legacy. In this blog, we will look at Asia Cup winners over the years and who won the most title.

-- Advertisement --

Top 10 Cricketers with Most 50’s in Cricket World Cup | Half-Century Connoisseurs- KreedOnAlso Read | Top 10 Cricketers with Most 50’s in Cricket World Cup

Asia Cup Winners (1984 to 2023)

asia cup winners list
Image Source- Cricket Addictor
Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023
Year Winner Runner-up Hosting Country
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1991 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh UAE
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan UAE
2023 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka and Pakistan

Asia Cup- Most Wins

Rank Teams Titles Runners-up
1 India 8 3
2 Sri Lanka 6 7
3 Pakistan 2 3
4 Bangladesh 0 3

imgAlso read | Top 10 Best Swing Bowlers of All Time

Asia Cup Winners by year

Team Winning Years
India 1984, 1988, 1990–91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, 2023
Sri Lanka 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan 2000 & 2012

Other than India, almost all the Asian teams who were once the superpowers in cricket, especially in the ODI format, are now performing poorly. Sri Lanka is 6 times the champions of the Asia Cup and Pakistan two times. Bangladesh over the last few years have shown glimpses of its potential, but they ultimately fail against bigger and better opponents like India. 

-- Advertisement --

Asia Cup 2023 Format

The Asia Cup for this year adopted the 50-over format. The tournament adhered to the following structure: Each participating team engaged in a round-robin competition within their group, facing off against every other team in the group once. After this phase, the top two teams from each group advanced, while the third-ranked team exited the competition. Subsequently, the remaining four teams entered the Super Four stage, where they competed in a round-robin format, facing each of the other teams once. The two teams performing the best in this stage earned the opportunity to contend in the final match.

Cricket Equipment: Bats, Balls, Protective Gear | KreedOnAlso read | Gear Up for Glory: The Ultimate Guide to Cricket Equipment

Asia Cup 2023 Squads

Afghanistan squad

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Rashid Khan, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Abdul Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Suliman Safi, Fazalhaq Farooqi

-- Advertisement --

Bangladesh squad

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Naim Sheikh, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Tanzim Hasan Sakib

India squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vc), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Sanju Samson (travelling reserve)

Nepal squad

Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Mousom Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato, Arjun Saud

Pakistan squad

Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Tayyab Tahir (travelling reserve).

Sri Lanka Squad

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanaka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Janith Perera, Kusal Mendis (vc), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dushan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan.

-- Advertisement --

cricket batting gloves - KreedOnAlso Read | Top 10 Best Cricket Batting Gloves 2023 – Buyer’s Guide

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Saurabh Sameer Karmarkar
Saurabh Sameer Karmarkar
Saurabh’s love for Test cricket has no limits. He indulges himself in listening to experts talking about Test cricket. Saurabh absolutely loves the way Aussies play the game. He is quite new to football, but football fever has taken complete control of him. He is an ardent Bayern Munich fan. Saurabh loves to write about sports. Other than sports, he is a voracious reader, a fitness freak, loves physics, loves to stay away from social media, and a Mechanical Engineer too!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here