HomeSportsBadmintonLakshya Sen, Harsheel proceed on to the nationals pre-quarterfinals
-- Advertisement --

Lakshya Sen, Harsheel proceed on to the nationals pre-quarterfinals

- Advertisement -

Indian shuttlers Lakshya Sen and Harsheel Dani have made their way to the men’s singles pre-quarterfinals with contrasting wins at the 83rd Yonex Sunrise Senior National Championship on Wednesday.

-- Advertisement --

The winner of an Asian Junior Championship and a bronze medal holder at World Junior Championship last year, Lakshya has completed a clinical 21-10, 21-10 win over Arintap Dasgupta of West Bengal.

In 2018, Harsheel secured the Ghana International but this time, he had to struggle to secure a 16-21, 21-18, 21-8 win over Kartikey in another match.

-- Advertisement --

Also, former champions Sourabh Varma and Rituparna Das have entered the pre-quarterfinals after notching up straight-game wins.

After staving off a fight from eight seed Jagadeesh K 18-21,21-11,21-15 earlier in the day, Sourabh finally defeated Munawer Mohammad 21-13, 21-14.

Rituparna left behind Namita Pathania 21-10, 21-7 and entered the final 16. For the fourth round, she had defeated Saloni Kumari 21-14, 21-15.

-- Advertisement --

Gayatri Gopichand Bows Out

The daughter of Chief India coach Pullela Gopichand namely Gayatri, lost 17-21,17-21 to Riya Mukherjee.

Some more men shuttlers including Rahul Yadav C, Alap Mishra, Aryamann Tandon, Kaushal Dharmamer and Rohit Yadav C are  also up for the pre quarter finals in the men’s singles.

Women shuttlers Malvika Bansod, Vaidehi Choudhari, Vaishnavi Bhale, Neha Pandit, Shruti Mundada, Vrushali G and Deepshikha Singh also progressed to the next round in the women’s singles.

In the men’s singles, Madhya Pradesh’s Priyanshu Rajawat was defeated by sixth seed Aryamann by 21-14, 21-10 and Jaswanth D. Was defeated by fifth seed Rahul Yadav from Telangana by 21-12,21-11.

-- Advertisement --

Also Read | Where Does Indian Sports Feature in World Rankings?

As per the matches of women’s singles, 14th seed Malvika Bansod stunned seventh-seed Shikha Gautam 21-11, 21-16, while fourth seed Vaidehi Choudhari got rid of Kerala’s Aadya Variyath 21-17, 21-13 in another match.

10th seeded Reshma Karthik was stunned by Maharashtra’s Vaishnavi by 21-19,21-19, while state mate 15th seeded Neha claimed a 21-18, 20-22, 21-16 upset win over the third seed Bhavya Rishi.

Manu Attri and Maneesha K, seeded seventh,in the doubles,  beat mixed doubles top seeds Utkarsh Arora and Karishma Wadkar 21-19, 21-18 to reach the quarterfinals and they were joined Shlok Ramchandran and Mithula UK, who beat Sanjai Srivatsa D and Kavipriya S 21-17, 21-13.

Veteran men’s doubles team of V Diju and Rupesh Kumar also dispatched Prince Chaturvedi and Sangram Chutia 21-15, 21-11 in just 20 minutes en route to the pre-quarter-finals.

The top shuttlers will begin their challenge from February 14. They will be led by PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal.

The top eight seeds in singles have been directly placed in the pre-quarter-finals while the top four seeds in doubles will start from the quarter-finals.

For more updates on Badminton, stay tuned to KreedOn, the voice of Indian sports.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Nandini Sharma
Nandini Sharma
A college student, Nandini is a passionate sports lover. She loves watching sports and curiously keeps checking the current scores of the matches in between her classes. Also, she loves to pen down a lot. And hence, with Kreedon, Nandini is happily connecting both her interests well.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here