Home Events IPL - Indian Premier League 2019 Kolkata Knight Riders: All You Need To Know About IPL's Mighty Knights

Kolkata Knight Riders: All You Need To Know About IPL’s Mighty Knights

The Kolkata Knight Riders team is one of the most glamorous teams in the Indian Premier League. The Shahrukh Khan co-owned team has been IPL champions twice.  Although the Kolkata Knight Riders team languished in the bottom half of IPL in the initial seasons, it experienced a major renaissance first under Gautam Gambhir and then under Dinesh Karthik.

About Kolkata Knight Riders Team 2019

Owner Shahrukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, Jay Mehta
Captain Dinesh Karthik
Coach Jacques Kallis
Year Established 2008
KKR Net Worth $62 million (~₹440 crore)


Also Read: Top 5 Valuable IPL Franchise in IPL

KKR Team 2019

PlayersCountryPositionSalary (₹ Crore)
Nikhil NaikIndiaWicket-Keeper / Batsman 0.20
Dinesh KarthikIndiaWicketkeeper / Batsman 7.4
Carlos BrathwaiteWest IndiesAll-rounder 5
Shrikant MundheIndiaAll-rounder 0.20
Sunil NarineWest IndiesAll-rounder 8.5
Andre RussellWest IndiesAll-rounder 7
Joe DenlyEnglandBatsman 1
Chris LynnAustraliaBatsman 9.6
Nitish RanaIndiaBatsman 3.4
Shubman GillIndiaBatsman 1.8
Rinku SinghIndiaBatsman 0.80
Robin UthappaIndiaBatsman 6.4
Piyush ChawlaIndiaBowler 4.2
Lockie FergusonNew ZealandBowler 1.6
Harry GurneyEnglandBowler 0.75
Kuldeep YadavIndiaBowler 5.8
Kamlesh NagarkotiIndiaBowler 3.2
Anrich NortjeSouth AfricaBowler 0.20
Prasidh KrishnaIndiaBowler 0.20
Prithvi Raj YarraIndiaBowler 0.20
Shivam MaviIndiaBowler 3

Kolkata Knight Riders History

Kolkata Knight Riders owner and Bollywood Superstar Shah Rukh Khan are in dire need of good scripts. He doesn’t need to look beyond his own team for a good story. The journey of KKR has it all that takes for a blockbuster – Big names, fights, huge defeats and finally sweet successes.


Everyone remembers the first IPL game when opener Brendon McCullum slammed an unbelievable 158 off 73 balls which included 10 boundaries and 13 sixes, helping KKR win the match against RCB by a massive 140 runs. After a thunderous start, KKR’s thunder fizzled and then started a series of disappointments until Gautam Gambhir was entrusted the captainship. KKR won the IPL twice under his iconic leadership.

KKR Team Performance

Former Indian captain and ‘Dada’ of Cricket Sourav Ganguly was the captain of KKR in the first season. The team had some huge superstars including Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Ricky Ponting, Shoaib Akhtar and many more. Inspite of the big stars the team performed poorly and remained sixth on the table.

In the following two seasons too, the performance of the team went from bad to worse. There were also reports that Sourav Ganguly and the owners had some differences.

Goodbye to Ganguly in 2011 IPL

In 2011, Ganguly wasn’t purchased in the auction by KKR. They invested in a reliable Gautam Gambhir with a whopping 2.4 million dollars price and Yusuf Pathan with 2.1 million dollars.

Other international names who were added include Shakib Al Hasan, Brad Haddin, Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, Ryan ten Doeschate, Eoin Morgan and James Pattinson. This was the new dawn for the side. The team won 8 out of their 15 games, qualifying for the eliminator for the first time.

Lucky Finals in IPL 2012

KKR bought a magician in the 2012 auctions who without a magical wand scripted history for his team. He was none other than Sunil Narine. It was just impossible for the batters to understand his bowling. He bowled the crucial overs and KKR won 12 games in the season, along with the finals against Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings. The city of joy – Kolkata erupted and Shah Rukh Khan and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee made it a huge carnival.

2nd Time Winners in 2014 IPL


2014 was another success story for the franchise. Indian players Robin Uthappa, Umesh Yadav, Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav and Piyush Chawla along with Morne Morkel, Patrick Cummins and Chris Lynn – formed a formidable side. Gautam Gambhir tactical captaincy was spot on and the team went on to win 11 games in the season. They defeated Kings XI Punjab, chasing a massive total.

Disappointments in Next Seasons

In 2015, 2016, 2017 seasons, KKR finished fifth, fourth and third respectively but what was more noteworthy was that the team gave chances to youngsters like Ankit Rajpoot, Jaydev Unadkat, Rishi Dhawan, Ishank Jaggi etc.

In 2018 auctions, the franchise gave a clear indication that they are thinking of the future by not picking their most successful captain – Gautam Gambhir. They bought Dinesh Karthik and named him their captain. They continued giving youngsters opportunities. Shubman Gill is the bright future for Kolkata Knight Riders and they’ll surely groom him well as Royal Challengers Bangalore did to Virat Kohli.

Kolkata Knight Riders Franchise


KKR is owned by Bollywood Superstar Shah Rukh Khan’s company Red Chillies Entertainment along with actress Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta. They bought the team for a price of 75.09 million dollars, equal to approximately ₹2.98 billion at that time.

The name of the team is a reference to the popular 1980s American television series Knight Rider. The official theme of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jeetbo Re (we will perform, fight and win!) and the official colours are purple and gold. The brand value of the Knight Riders was estimated at 99 million dollars in 2017, second highest among IPL franchises.

In June 2015, the owners bought a stake in the Caribbean Premier League cricket team Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel and later in 2016, renamed it Trinbago Knight Riders. The tagline of the team was “All the King’s Men” during the first four seasons. However, in the fifth, it was replaced by “New Dawn, New Knights”.

Also Read: Check Out the Top 5 Lowest Scores in IPL History

Kolkata Knight Riders Sponsors


  1. Nokia
  2. Jio
  3. Lux Cozi
  4. Exode
  5. Royal Stag
  6. The Telegraph
  7. Fever 104 FM
  8. Greenly
  9. Asian Paints
  10. Astral Pipes
  11. Khadim’s
  12. Senco Gold & Diamonds

Awards and Achievements


Champions: 2012

Champions: 2014

KKR Social Media

For all the latest action on IPL, stay tuned with KreedOn.

KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Indian Super league 2019