HomeSportsCricketKL Rahul Included in India's Squad Against Australia, Captain Kohli Back
-- Advertisement --

KL Rahul Included in India’s Squad Against Australia, Captain Kohli Back

- Advertisement -

India vs Australia: While KL Rahul returns in the Indian team, Dinesh Karthik sees a dropout.

Opening batsman KL Rahul is back in the Indian team in both ODIs and T20Is against Australia starting February 24, as the BCCI announced the squad for the upcoming series. Rishabh Pant has also been included in the squad ahead of the World Cup 2019.

-- Advertisement --

Captain Virat Kohli will be back to lead the team after taking a break from the last two ODI’s and T20I series against New Zealand. The 21-year-old, Mumbai Indians wrist spinner Mayank Markande has been rewarded for his impressive five-wicket haul against the England Lions. He finds a place in the T20 squad.

-- Advertisement --

A big decision that team management has taken is the omission of Dinesh Karthik. Karthik and Rishab Pant are likely in contention for the same spot in the side. The management is likely in favour of the young left-hander.

KL Rahul‘s inclusion after his suspension of 4 games that took place due to the comments in the Koffee with Karan episode, brings clarity in the management’s think tank. Rahul is definitely the reserved opener if Shikhar Dhawan or Rohit Sharma’s form dips. He could also be used at number 4 in place of Ambati Rayudu in the World Cup. Also, the fact that Ravi Shastri wants Kohli to bat at 4 gives hints of Rahul’s inclusion.

-- Advertisement --

India’s squad for T20I series against Australia:

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit (vice-capt), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande

Bhuvaneshwar Kumar has been rested for the first two ODI’s while Siddharth Kaul might be tried on his place. Jasprit Bumrah who was rested for the limited overs series in Australia and New Zealand returns in the squad. Khaleel Ahmed who disappointed in New Zealand was dropped.

India squad for 1st and 2nd ODI:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohamed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, Sidharth Kaul, KL Rahul

-- Advertisement --

India squad for remaining 3 ODIs:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohamed Shami, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant.

The 2 match T20 series begins on February 24 in Visakhapatnam while the 5 match ODI series begins on March 2 in Hyderabad.

For the latest updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here