Kings XI Punjab Team: All You Need To Know About ‘Sheras’ Of The IPL

7 min read
IPL 2019
Image Source: Kings XI Punjab Twitter Official

Bollywood star Preity Zinta’s co-owned Kings XI Punjab team had a good first season when they finished fourth on the table. In the 2014 season, under the leadership of the swashbuckling Indian batsman Virender Sehwag, the Punjab side reached the finals for the first time but couldn’t beat Gautam Gambhir‘s Kolkata Knight Riders. Since then the team hasn’t been able to make any mark whatsoever.


Last year, the entire team was changed but it yielded similar results. R Ashwin was appointed the captain. KL Rahul had a brilliant season. In 2019, Kings XI Punjab team have added some wonderful players in Sam Curran and Nicholas Pooran who might change the future of the side.

About Kings XI Punjab Team

Owners: Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, Mohit Burman, Karan Paul
Captain: Ravichandran Ashwin
Coach: Mike Hesson
Year Founded: 2008
KXIP Net Worth$40 million (~₹283 crore)


Punjab Team 2019

Agnivesh AyachiIndiaRight arm medium pacer₹ 20 lakh
Andrew TyeAustraliaRight arm fast bowler₹ 7.2 Crore
Ankit RajpootIndiaRight arm medium pacer₹ 3 Crore
Arshdeep SinghIndiaLeft-arm pacer₹ 20 lakh
Chris GayleWest IndiesLeft-handed opening batsman₹ 2 Crore
David MillerSouth AfricaLeft-handed batsman₹ 3 Crore
Hardus ViljoenSouth AfricaRight arm fast bowler₹ 75 lakh
Harpreet BrarIndiaAll-rounder₹ 20 lakh
Karun NairIndiaRight-hand middle order batsman₹ 5.6 Crore
KL RahulIndiaRight-hand opening batsman₹ 11 Crore
Mayank AgarwalIndiaRight-hand opening batsman₹ 1 Crore
Mohammed ShamiIndiaRight arm fast bowler₹ 4.8 Crore
Moises HenriquesAustraliaAll Rounder₹ 1 Crore
Mujeeb Ur RahmanIndiaRight arm off break bowler₹ 4 Crore
Murugan AshwinIndiaRight arm leg break₹ 20 lakh
Prabhsimran SinghIndiaWicketkeeper Batsman₹ 4.8 Crore
Prabhsimran SinghWest IndiesLeft-handed batsman₹ 4.2 Crore
R AshwinIndiaRight arm spinner₹ 7.6 Crore
Sam CurranEnglandAll Rounder₹ 7.2 Crore
Sarfaraz KhanIndiaRight-hand batsman₹ 25 lakh
Varun ChakravarthyIndiaLeg-break bowler₹ 8.4 Crore
Darshan NalkandeIndiaRight arm fast medium bowler₹ 30 lakh
Mandeep SinghIndiaRight-hand batsman


Kings XI Punjab History

Kings XI Punjab had a total of 11 captains from the first season – Yuvraj Singh, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Adam Gilchrist, David Hussey, George Bailey, Virender Sehwag, David Miller, Murli Vijay and R Ashwin. This was one of the reasons why the team never found stability and balance.

The team has also had many coaches over the 11 seasons. Tom Moody, Michael Bevan, Adam Gilchrist, Darren Lehmann, Sanjay Bangar, Virender Sehwag and Brad Hodge have been the previous coaches. Currently, the team is coached by Mike Hesson.


In the current season, Sridharan Sriram is the batting coach, Ryan Harris is the bowling coach, Craig McMillan is the fielding coach, Kiran More is the wicketkeeping coach of the Punjab franchise.

In the first season of the IPL, Australia’s Shaun Marsh was the highest run-getter of the season. He finished with an average of 68.44 and a strike rate of 139.68 in 11 innings. The Yuvraj Singh led side managed to enter the semifinals but were defeated by MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings.

The team always had the capacity to go big but never achieved what it had set to and has never managed to enter the playoffs.

Kings XI Punjab Team Performance

Post the first season of the IPL, Kings XI Punjab team languished to fifth, eighth, fifth, sixth and sixth in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 respectively.

2014 IPL

In 2014, under George Bailey’s leadership, the team won the first five games on a trot. Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Johnson gave important contributions throughout the tournament. In the semifinals, Virender Sehwag scored a brilliant 122 and stormed into the finals. In the finals, wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha made a spectacular 115* but the Kolkata Knight Riders chased down the massive total.

No Good Luck in 2015 & 2016

In the later seasons, the team were at the bottom of the table in 2015 and 2016. In 2017 the team came 5th. In 2018 the team was changed completely with a new leader altogether. R Ashwin was given the responsibility of captainship. KL Rahul played some spectacular innings along with Chris Gayle but the team remained 7th on the points table.

IPL 2019 Auctions

In the 2018 auctions for 2019 IPL, the team have had some interesting buys. KXIP have snapped up new 13 players – Varun Chakravarthy, Sam Curran, Mohammed Shami, Prabhsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Moises Henriques, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar, Murugan Ashwin – along with seasoned campaigners like KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, Mayank Agarwal, David Miller and Karun Nair.


2019 season seems bright for the team.

Kings XI Punjab Franchise

The Punjab franchise was bought by the Dabur group’s Mohit Burman (46%), the Wadia group’s Ness Wadia (23%), Preity Zinta (23%), and Saptarshi Dey of the Dey & Dey Group (minor stake). The group paid a total of $76 million to acquire the franchise.

In 2010 there was a controversy surrounding BCCI and Lalit Modi. They announced that it had terminated the franchise contracts of Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals. However, the teams announced that they would take whatever legal action possible to remain in the IPL.

They filed a case in Mumbai High Court accusing the IPL of getting rid of two teams so that when the bidding process starts for the 2012 IPL season the contract would be given to a more lucrative bidder. However, the High Court reinstated Kings XI Punjab.

Kings XI Punjab Sponsors

1.Bageshree Infratech Pvt Ltd

2. Jio

3. Fena Detergent

4. Royal Stag

5. Finolex cables

6. Kingfisher



9. T10 Sports

10. Coca-Cola

11. Dream 11

12. Boat

13. Cricfig

14. The Souled store

15. Kent RO Systems

Kings XI Punjab Awards and Achievements

Semifinalists – 2008

Runner ups – 2014

Kings XI Punjab Theme Song 2019


Social Media

For more updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here