HomeSportsFootballISL Owners: Complete list of ISL owners of all 10 Clubs

ISL Owners: Complete list of ISL owners of all 10 Clubs

One of the major reasons behind the Indian Super League’s initial success is the involvement of a number of Bollywood superstars and cricketers. It helped a lot of casual football fans get more involved in ISL. Most of them are owners/part owners of clubs. Here is the complete list of ISL owners of all 10 current clubs:

-- Advertisement --


ISL Owners | Credits ISL

The two-time champions were initially co-owned by the Spaniard giants Atletico Madrid and hence the name Atletico de Kolkata! But after the La Liga team ended their partnership, the team is currently owned by Kolkata Games and Sports Pvt. Ltd. The consortium consists of Kolkata’s very own Sourav Ganguly, Harshavardhan Neotia, Sanjiv Goenka and Utsav Parekh. Sanjiv Goenka bought the shares which were previously owned by Atletico Madrid.

Bengaluru FC

Indian Legend - Sunil Chhetri
ISL Owners

The defending champions have been part of India’s domestic football for some time now. Apart from their success in ISL, the Blues have also won I-League, Federation Cup and Indian Super Cup.

-- Advertisement --

Bengaluru FC is owned by JSW Group, one of India’s biggest conglomerates. The JSW has been part of the Indian sports circuit for some time now with the ownership of Delhi Capitals in IPL and Haryana Steelers in PKL.

Chennaiyin FC

ISL Owners | Credits ISL

The joint most successful team of the competition is also amongst one of the most popular clubs in ISL. And it is all thanks to their co-owner M.S. Dhoni – Chennai’s favourite son! Dhoni’s love for football is well-known, and he has used it to promote the game in South India. Along with the World Cup winner, Bollywood actor Abhishek Bachchan and businesswoman Vita Dani are also the co-owners of Chennai.

Abhishek Bachchan is also the owner of Jaipur Pink Panthers in PKL. Thanks to junior Bachchan, Chennai has some of the most famous supporters in the form of Amitabh Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan.

-- Advertisement --

Odisha FC

ISL Owners | Credits ISL

After playing first five seasons as Delhi Dynamos, the club was recently rebranded as Odisha FC. The home turf also changed from Delhi’s Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Bhubaneshwar’s Kalinga Stadium. The club is owned by the US-based ship recycling company GMS Inc – The only non-Indian owners of ISL.

FC Goa

Credits Sandeep Shetty / ISL / SPORTZPICS

The two-time finalists are owned by Goan Football Club Pvt. Ltd. Which consists of several different owners. But the most famous amongst them is without a doubt the captain of the Indian Cricket team, Virat Kohli.

Dattaraj Salgaocar and Shrinivas Dempo owned a combined 74% stakes of the team for the first three seasons. But the duo, who own two famous clubs, Salgaocar FC and Dempo SC in Goa pulled out of the ownership in 2016.

As things stand, chairman of Delta Corp Limited, Jaydev Moody owns 65% stakes and the chairman of VIDEOCON, Venugopal Dhoot own 23% stakes. Kohli is a part-owner with 12% stakes in the team.

-- Advertisement --

Jamshedpur FC

Credits Tata Steel

Jamshedpur is the city known for its steel plant owned by Tata. So, it should come as no surprise that Tata Steel are the owner of the club. Jamshedpur FC was one of the two teams added to ISL in 2017. The team is known for using the graduates of Tata Football Academy founded in 1987.

Kerala Blasters FC

Credits Apherald

They are called Blasters for a reason! Kerala Blasters were co-owned by none other than Sachin Tendulkar. Tendulkar used his fandom to help promote football in India. And there is hardly a better place than Kochi – a city full of football crazy fans.

But the Master Blaster parted ways with the club in 2018 due to personal reasons. Currently, the team is owned by Blasters Sports Pvt Ltd. The organization includes South India’s two megastars, Chiranjeevi and Akkineni Nagarjuna, film producer Allu Aravind and businessman Nimmagadda Prasad.

Prasad is also known for his love for sports as he offered the help of US$500,000 to Pulela Gopichand for the formation of Gopichand Badminton Academy.

Mumbai City FC

Credits News18

Mumbai is known for their love for football. Unfortunately, it is more for European football than domestic Indian football. But the situation quickly started changing after the formation of Mumbai City FC. The club is co-owned by Bollywood superstar Ranbir Kapoor and a CA, Bimal Parekh.

NorthEast United

Credits ISL

The love and passion for football in North-east India is simply unmatchable. And despite NorthEast United’s failure to deliver performances in the first five seasons so far, the fans continue to support the club. Bollywood actor John Abraham is the owner of the club which is the first one to represent an entire region instead of just a city or a state.

Hyderabad FC

Credits News18

After FC Pune City ran into trouble, the ownership switched hands, and the team base shifted to Hyderabad. The sixth season is Hyderabad FC’s debut season in the Indian Super League. Vijay Madduri, Varun Tripuraneni and actor Rana Daggubati are the co-owners of the club.

Vijay Madduri is a Hyderabad resident and an IT entrepreneur. Before moving into this sports venture, he was the Founder and CEO of Incessant Technologies.

Varun Tripurneni is not a new face in the ISL circle. He has been associated with ISL under different garbs. From managing Kerala Blasters FC in the inaugural season, moving to Chennaiyin FC as the Chief Operating Officer and heading Kerala Blasters FC as the Chief Executive Officer, he is now the owner of an ISL team.

Chinmay Pagar
Chinmay Pagar
I might be a Mechanical Engineer on the paper, but I was a Sports enthusiast since childhood, screaming at the TV watching cricket at the age of 4. Not much excites me other than sports unless it's free pizza. I can watch literally anything remotely related to sports; Cricket, Football, Tennis, F1, Hockey, Athletics, Chess, you name it! And I love to write too, so at the time I'm not watching sports, I'm writing about it. Or eating pizzas, of course.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here