Hardik Pandya‘s strange dismissal by Tom Latham in the first ODI against New Zealand led to controversy and triggered a debate online. Hardik (28) was adjudged out by the third umpire. It was argued that it was not the ball but Tom Latham’s gloves that had touched the bails. Later Ishan Kishan pulled off a prank on Tom Latham and tries to imitate him by removing the bails with his gloves and went for an appeal.
Tom Latham seemed confused with what happened after Ishan Kishan touched bails and the third umpire was also convinced enough to check for a hit wicket. Kishan was seen giving a smile after the incident replayed on the big screen. India defeated New Zealand by 12 runs in the 1st ODI.
— CricTracker (@Cricketracker) January 18, 2023
Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar commented on the incident and said,
“Taking the bails off was fine but he should not have appealed,”