HomeSportsCricketIrani Cup Day 1 Roundup: Vihari, Agarwal guide Rest of India to...
-- Advertisement --

Irani Cup Day 1 Roundup: Vihari, Agarwal guide Rest of India to 330

- Advertisement -

Youngsters Mayank Agarwal and Hanuma Vihari who impressed one and all with their impeccable display of resilience and exquisite timing in the recently concluded Test series against Australia down under, have done it again, this time playing for the Rest of India in the Irani Trophy match against Vidarbha at Nagpur today.

-- Advertisement --

Vihari scored a brilliant century. He scored a 211 ball 114 run knock which included a total of 11 boundaries and 2 sixes. The opening batsman Agarwal, missed his century by 5 runs. He scored 95 off 134 balls including 10 fours and 3 sixes.

The Rest of India were not able to capitalize on the foundation laid by these two batters. They were bundled out for 330 on Day 1 of the match. The Vidarbha bowlers, high on confidence of their back to back Ranji Trophy wins took a string of wickets despite of the absence of Vidarbha spearhead Umesh Yadav.

-- Advertisement --

Earlier, Ajinkya Rahane, captain of the Rest of India won the toss and elected to bat first. Despite being a green top, the Vidarbha bowlers didn’t bother the opening batsman much. Rajneesh Gurbani struck for Vidarbha as he dismissed opener Anmolpreet Singh. Singh made 15. Vihari joined Agarwal and the duo batted brilliantly throughout the first session. The RoI made 142/1 in the morning session.

Also Read | ICC T20 rankings : Kuldeep Yadav Jumps to 2nd Spot, India Ranked Second

Mayank threw his wicket for a well made 95. Captain Rahane (13) soon lost his wicket. Another India hopeful Shreyas Iyer (19) couldn’t make his innings count. Wicket Keeper Ishan Kishan, K Gowtham, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja didn’t trouble the scorers much. They made 2, 7 and 6 respectively.

Hanuma Vihari brought up his well deserved century. A brilliant knock of 114 off 211 balls. Vidarbha captain Faiz Fazal took his catch off Aditya Sarwate. Rahul Chahar and Ankit Rajpoot made important contributions lower down the order. They added 22 and 25 respectively.

-- Advertisement --

For Vidarbha, Akshay Sarwate and Akshay Wakhare took 3 wickets each while Rajneesh Gurbani claimed 2 wickets. Yash Thakur and Akshay Karnewar picked up a wicket each.

For more updates on Irani Cup, stay tuned to KreedOn, the Voice of Indian Sports

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here