Home Sports Cricket IPL Winners: Complete list of winner of all 12 IPL seasons

IPL Winners: Complete list of winner of all 12 IPL seasons

Here’s all you need to know about all the IPL Winners to date…

“Where Talent Meets Opportunity.” If you take a close look at the trophy presented to the Indian Premier League winners, you will find the above quote inscribed on it.

And quite rightly so.  After all, since its inception in 2008, IPL has given the opportunity to several talents which would otherwise have been lost in the crowd. A break in the Indian national team is not so easy. A country of a billion people represented by the best 11 players!

The format of IPL, which stressed on more Indian players in the team, has been a significant impact in recognising the talents. Although performance in domestic circuits is a major criterion for selection in the national squad, IPL has provided opportunities to many youngsters like Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya to earn a slot in the Indian national team.

With the next season of the league’s 2020 edition barely a few months away, here’s a look at the champions from all editions of IPL:

IPL Winners

Winner Runner-up
2008 Rajasthan Royals
164/7 (20 overs)
Chennai Super Kings
163/5 (20 overs)
2009 Deccan Chargers
143/6 (20 overs)
Royal Challengers Bangalore
137/9 (20 overs)
2010 Chennai Super Kings
168/5 (20 overs)
Mumbai Indians
146/9 (20 overs)
2011 Chennai Super Kings
205/5 (20 overs)
Royal Challengers Bangalore
147/8 (20 overs)
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders
192/5 (19.4 overs)
Chennai Super Kings
190/3 (20 overs)
2013 Mumbai Indians
148/9 (20 overs)
Chennai Super Kings
125/9 (20 overs)
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders
200/7 (19.3 overs)
Kings XI Punjab
199/4 (20 overs)
2015 Mumbai Indians
202/5 (20 overs)
Chennai Super Kings
161/8 (20 overs)
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad
208/7 (20 overs)
Royal Challengers Bangalore
200/7 (20 overs)
2017 Mumbai Indians
129/8 (20 overs)
Rising Pune Supergiant[64]
128/6 (20 overs)
2018 Chennai Super Kings
181/2 (18.3 overs)
Sunrisers Hyderabad
178/6 (20 overs)
2019 Mumbai Indians
149/8 (20 overs)
Chennai Super Kings
148/7 (20 overs)

IPL 2008: Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals KreedOn
IPL Winners: Rajasthan Royals | Credits IPL

IPL 2009: Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers KreedOn
IPL Winners: Deccan Chargers | Credits IPL

IPL 2010: Chennai Super Kings

IPL Winners KreedOn
IPL Winners: Chennai Super Kings | Credits IPL

IPL 2011: Chennai Super Kings

IPL Winners KreedOn
IPL Winners: Chennai Super Kings | Credits IPL

IPL 2012: Kolkata Knight Riders

IPL Winners KreedOn
IPL Winners Kolkata Knight Riders celebrate after winning the IPL T20 Champions trophy | Credits Manjunath Kiran,AFP, Getty Images

IPL 2013: Mumbai Indians

IPL Winners KreedOn
IPL Winners: Mumbai Indians | Credits IPL

IPL 2014: Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR KreedOn
IPL Winners: KKR | Credits IPL

IPL 2015: Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians KreedOn
IPL Winners: Mumbai Indians | Credits IPL

IPL 2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL Winners
IPL Winners Sunrisers Hyderabad players celebrate with the winning trophy of IPL 2016 after beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final | Credits Shailendra Bhojak

IPL 2017: Mumbai Indians

MI KreedOn
IPL Winners: Mumbai Indians | Credits IPL

IPL 2018: Chennai Super Kings

CSK KreedOn
IPL Winners: CSK | Credits IPL

IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians

IPL KreedOn
IPL winners Mumbai Indians celebrate after winning IPL 2019 | (Credits: IPL)
Kartik Gai
A cricket enthusiast- is best what describes me! While Dhoni is the monument of interest for me in this sport, it is Harsha Bhogle who inspires me to just write or speak. You can discuss with me about PUBG as well!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here