HomeSportsCricketIPL Auction 2023: Everything We Know So Far

IPL Auction 2023: Everything We Know So Far

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -
-- Advertisement --

2023 may be coming to an end, but the end of the year has always been an exciting time for the fans of cricket. That’s because December is typically when the Indian Premier League auction takes place. The IPL auction 2023 is scheduled this year on December 23, 2022, in Kochi, Kerala.

If you’re new to the IPL scene for some reason, you wouldn’t want to miss out on this major event. That’s especially the case if you’re aiming to participate in today match prediction. Knowing the list of retained players and the new cricketers who’ll be joining the league’s 10 teams. 

-- Advertisement --

So, what do we know about the IPL’s auction this coming December? Keep scrolling!

IPL Auction 2023 Rules

This year, Right to Match (RTM) won’t be available. Instead, the teams will be picking 25 players max to be part of their squads. 

-- Advertisement --

Each team is also only allowed to have eight overseas players, and they’re required to spend 75% of their total salary cap. Of course, no purchases can be made beyond the set cap which is Rs 95 crores.

Since the teams have already released their list of retained players, the remaining salary cap is now different for each of them. Sunrisers Hyderabad currently has the biggest remaining salary cap after retaining fewer players compared to other teams.

Meanwhile, Kolkata Knight Riders have the least salary cap with Rs 7.05 crores after retaining a total of 15 players.

Here’s the remaining purse of each team:

  • Chennai Super Kings: Rs 20.45 Cr
  • Delhi Capitals: Rs 19.45 Cr
  • Gujarat Titans: Rs 19.25 Cr
  • Kolkata Knight Riders: Rs 7.05 Cr
  • Lucknow Super Giants: Rs 23.35 Cr
  • Mumbai Giants: Rs 20.55 Cr
  • Punjab Kings: Rs 32.20 Cr
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: Rs 8.75 Cr
  • Rajasthan Royals: Rs 13.20 Cr
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad: Rs 42.25 Cr

IPL 2023 Retained Players

This year, a total of 991 players have registered for the 2023 IPL Auction. However, only 87 maximum slots are left to be filled by all 10 IPL teams. Here are all the retained players for each team this year:

-- Advertisement --

Chennai Super Kings

Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, D. Pretorius, Mahesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, M. Santner, M. Ali, MS Dhoni, Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj  Gaikwad, Shivam Dube, Simarjeet Singh, Subhranshu Senapati, and Tushar Deshpande

Available Slots: 7

Delhi Capitals

Aman Khan, Anrich Nortje, Axar Patel, Chetan Sakariya, D. Warner, K. Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lalit Yadav, L. Ngidi, M. Marsh, M. Rahman, Pravin Dubey, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rishabh Pant, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Vicky Ostwal, and Yash Dhull 

Available Slots: 5

Mumbai Indians

Akash Madhwal, A. Tendulkar, Dewald Brevis, Hrithik Shokeen, Ishan Kishan, Jason Behrendorff, J. Bumrah, Jofra Archer, Kumar Kartikeya Singh, M. Arshad Khan, N. Tilak Varma, Ramandeep Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tim David, and Tristan Stubbs

Available Slots: 9

Kolkata Knight Riders

Russell, Anukul Roy, Harshit Rana, L. Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, and Venkatesh Iyer

Available Slots: 11

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Glenn Phillips, Kartik Tyagi, Marco Jansen, Rahul Tripathi, T. Natarajan, Umran Malik, and Washington Sundar

Available Slots: 13

Punjab Kings Retention List

Shikhar Dhawan, Shahrukh Khan, R. Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Harpreet Brar, Raj Angad Bawa, Prabhsimran Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Jitesh Sharma, Baltej Singh Dhanda, Atharva Taide, L. Livingstone, K. Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Nathan Ellis, and Bhanuka Rajapakse 

Available Slots: 9

Rajasthan Royals

Devdutt Padikkal, Dhruv Jurel, J. Butler, K.C Cariappa, Kuldeep Sen, Kuldip Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Obed Mccoy, Prasidh Krishna, R. Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Sanju Samson, S. Hetmyer, Trent Boult, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Y. Chahal

Available Slots: 9

Gujarat Titans

Abhinav Sadarangani, Alzarri Joseph, B. Sai Sudharsan, Darshan Nalkande, D. Miller, Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, M. Wade, M. Shami, Noor Ahmad, Pradeep Sangwan, R. Sai Kishore, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha, Yash Dayal

Available Slots: 7

Lucknow Super Giants

Avesh Khan, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, K. Gowtham, Karan Sharma, KL Rahul, Krunal Pandya, Kyle Mayers, Manan Vohra, Marcus Stoinis, Mark Wood, Mayank Yadav, Mohsin Khan, Quinton De Kock, and Ravi Bishnoi 

Available Slots: 10

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Akash Deep, Anuj Rawat, David Willey, Dinesh Karthik, Faf Du Plessis, Finn Allen, G. Maxwell, Harshal Patel, J. Hazlewood, Karn Sharma, Mahipal Lomror, Mohammed Siraj, Rajat Patidar, Shahbaz Ahamad, Siddharth Kaul, Suyash Prabhudessai, Virat Kohli, and Wanindu Hasaranga

Available Slots: 7

There are still a few slots to be filled by each team, and cricket fans shouldn’t miss out on the upcoming IPL 2023 Auction. It’s a great way to get a glimpse on how each team will perform next season. The auction will be streamed live at Star Sports and the Voot App.


-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Adya Bhargava
Adya Bhargava
Adya is a 17-year-old student at The Shri Ram School and former India Rank 19 in badminton. She is passionate about the academic aspects of sports and writes about the interdisciplinary relationship between sports and economics. She also has her own organization, Baton of Hope, to help underprivileged athletes pursue sports at the grassroots levels.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --