HomeSportsCricketIPL 2024 Auction: The 5 Genius Picks that Stole the Show in...
-- Advertisement --

IPL 2024 Auction: The 5 Genius Picks that Stole the Show in IPL Auction History

- Advertisement -

As the 2024 IPL auction approaches on December 19, franchises aim to make shrewd and strategic choices despite having limited funds for the mini auction. Regardless of the team that acquires talents such as Mitchell Starc, Travis Head, or Rachin Ravindra, none of them would be considered among the top purchases. Here, we highlight the five most exceptional picks in the history of IPL auctions.

-- Advertisement --

The 5 Genius Picks in IPL Auction History

Player Auction Edition Franchise Price
MS Dhoni 2008 Chennai Super Kings $1.5 million
Virat Kohli 2008 Royal Challengers Bangalore $30,000
Rohit Sharma 2011 Mumbai Indians ₹9.2 crore
Sunil Narine 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders ₹3.5 crore
Lasith Malinga 2008 Mumbai Indians $3,50,000

MS Dhoni

IPL Auction - MS Dhoni | KreedOn
Image Source:

The Chennai Super Kings made a significant investment of $1.5 million in 2008 to acquire the skipper who would go on to become the most successful in IPL history. While the price tag raised eyebrows initially, the wicketkeeper proved to be a lucrative asset for the franchise. Dhoni’s leadership guided CSK to an impressive 5 IPL titles, a record shared with others, and the team achieved the highest number of match wins (113) in the history of the tournament.

IPL technology | Technologies in IPL | KreedOnAlso Read | Tech-Savvy IPL: Top 10 Technologies Revolutionizing the Game

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli | KreedOn
Image Source: Times Now

Acquired for a modest sum of 30 thousand dollars, the esteemed player of the Royal Challengers Bangalore reciprocated with significant contributions. Despite participating in 16 seasons of the league, Kohli continues to be a loyal member of the franchise. In addition to boasting the fourth-highest number of appearances (237 matches), Virat Kohli holds the distinction of being the all-time leading run-scorer in the history of the IPL.

Rohit Sharma

IPL Auction - Rohit Sharma | KreedOn
Image Source: Getty Images

Despite not having established himself in international cricket, Rohit Sharma was signed by the Mumbai Indians for a significant ₹9.2 crore. Over the course of 13 seasons, Rohit has successfully captained MI to five titles, tying for the most championships. Additionally, Rohit Sharma holds the second-highest number of appearances in the IPL with 243 matches and ranks as the fourth-highest run-scorer in the tournament.

Sunil Narine

IPL Auction - Sunil Narine | KreedOn
Image Source: Getty Images

Regarded as a significant acquisition, Narine remains an integral part of the Kolkata Knight Riders. With a notable record of 162 appearances for the franchise, he currently holds the position of the 8th highest wicket-taker in the IPL, boasting 163 wickets. Additionally, Narine stands as the leading wicket-taker in the history of KKR, accompanied by an impressive tally of over 1,000 runs as a mystery spinner.

Also Read | 20 All-Time Best Cricket Umpires in the World | The Unsung Heroes of Cricket

Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga | KreedOn
Image Source:

The sole former player among the listed individuals, the unconventional fast bowler earned a prize of $350,000 in 2008. Despite participating in only 122 matches, Malinga concluded his IPL career with the sixth-highest wicket tally in history (170) and presently contributes as a coach to the franchise following his retirement.

Before the IPL 2024, let’s examine the highest-priced acquisitions in each IPL auction:

Player Edition Franchise Price
MS Dhoni 2008 Chennai Super Kings $1.5 million
Andrew Flintoff & Kevin Pietersen 2009 Chennai Super Kings & Royal Challengers Bangalore $1.55 million
Shane Bond & Kieron Pollard 2010 Kolkata Knight Riders & Mumbai Indians $750,000
Gautam Gambhir 2011 Kolkata Knight Riders $2.4 million
Ravindra Jadeja 2012 Chennai Super Kings $2 million
Glenn Maxwell 2013 Mumbai Indians $1 million
Yuvraj Singh 2014 Royal Challengers Bangalore ₹14 crore
Yuvraj Singh 2015 Delhi Daredevils* ₹ 16 crore
Shane Watson 2016 Royal Challengers Bangalore ₹9.5 crore
Ben Stokes 2017 Rising Pune Supergiant ₹14.5 crore
Ben Stokes 2018 Rajasthan Royals ₹12.5 crore
Varun Chakravarthy & Jaydev Unadkat 2019 Kings XI Punjab* & Rajasthan Royals ₹8.4 crore
Pat Cummins 2020 Kolkata Knight Riders ₹15.5 crore
Chris Morris 2021 Rajasthan Royals ₹16.25 crore
Ishan Kishan 2022 Mumbai Indians ₹15.25 crore
Sam Curran 2023 Punjab Kings ₹18.5 crore

KreedOnRead | Top 11 best Running shoes under 5000: High-Performance shoes for you

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here