-- Advertisement --

Home Sports Cricket Indian Women’s ODI and T20I Teams for New Zealand Tour Announced

Indian Women’s ODI and T20I Teams for New Zealand Tour Announced

-- Advertisement --

The Indian women’s squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand has been announced on Friday. The All-India Women’s Selection Committee met in New Delhi to pick the squad for the three ODI and three T20 matches to be played from 24th January 2019.

-- Advertisement --

The team will first play three ODIs as part of the ongoing ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020 and will then play three T20Is.

The experienced Mithali Raj has retained the captainship of the ODI side after she was axed in the semi-finals of the T20I World Cup against England in West Indies in November this year.

Raj and the T20I captain Kaur were at loggerheads over the extension of Romesh Powar as the head coach. But, finally, the BCCI ended his term and has appointed W.V.Raman as the head coach of the team.

Out-of-form Veda Krishnamurthy was dropped from both the squads. Mona Meshram has replaced her. Injured pacer Pooja Vastrakar has been replaced by Shikha Pandey in the T20 squad while uncapped Priya Punia was picked in place of Veda.

India Women’s ODI squad: Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, D Hemalatha, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Mona Meshram, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Priya Punia

India Women’s tour of New Zealand:

Sr. No. Date Match Venue
1 24th January 1st ODI McLean Park, Napier
2 29th January 2nd ODI Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui
3 1st February 3rd ODI Seddon Park, Hamilton
4 6th February 1st T20I Westpac Stadium, Wellington
5 8th February 2nd T20I Eden Park, Auckland
6 10th February 3rd T20I Seddon Park, Hamilton


For more interesting updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

-- Advertisement --
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --