-- Advertisement --
Home Athletes Indian Track and Field Squad for 2018 Commonwealth Games Announced

Indian Track and Field Squad for 2018 Commonwealth Games Announced

Indian track and field squad kreedon|Indian track and field squad kreedon
India will 31 track and field athletes at the 2018 Commonwealth Games. |According to the AFI officials

The Athletics Federation of India after the conclusion of sports meets named a 31-member Indian track and field squad, which includes 18 men and 13 women for the upcoming Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

-- Advertisement --
India will send 31 track and field athletes for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

Indian Track and Field Squad – Who made the cut?

India has been offered a quota of 37 in athletics but the AFI selection committee, which met after the completion of the March 5-8 Federation Cup National Championships in Patiala, chose only 31.

In the last edition of the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow in 2014, India had 32 track and field athletes, who won three medals (1 gold, silver and bronze each).

-- Advertisement --

Junior world champion javelin thrower and India’s sure-shot medal hopeful Neeraj Chopra is set to make his debut at the Gold Coast Games. Neeraj recently won gold at the Federation Cup meet in Patiala with an effort of 85.94m. This is the second-best effort of his career.

All eyes would be on Neeraj and Tejaswin as they lead the Indian contingent at the XXI Commonwealth Games.

Besides Neeraj, promising Delhi high jumper and another medal hopeful at the XXI CWG Tejaswin Shankar, veteran discus thrower Seema Punia, triple jumper Arpinder Singh and new 400m hurdles national record holder Dharun Ayyasamy were also named in the team.


Punia, who will be taking part in her fourth CWG, had won a silver in the last edition in Glasgow while Arpinder had clinched a bronze. The lone gold winner in Glasgow, discus thrower Vikas Gowda is not taking part this time.

Four 20km race walkers, which include two men and two women have already been named from the separate national championships held here last month.

Hima (in pink) during her final race of 400m at the Fed Cup in Patiala.

The team also has the men’s and women’s 4x400m relay teams as both the events have been India’s stronghold. The men’s relay team comprise six members while the women’s team has five as Karnataka quarter-miler Vijayakumari GK, who won the silver in the Federation Cup behind Hima Das, was not agreeable to AFI’s offer to include her on the condition of joining national camp.

Discus thrower Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and javelin thrower Vipin Kasana were the two athletes, who were picked on the basis of their performance at the Indian Grand Prix.

Dhillon crossed the 59m qualifying mark with a best throw of 59.18m at the Indian GP though she was below par at the Federation Cup with an effort of 57.75m, which fetched her a silver behind Seema Punia.

Another athlete who was picked on the basis of his Indian Grand Prix performance was triple jumper Rakesh Babu Arayan although he finished fourth with an effort of 16.31m while the qualifying mark was 16.60m. Babu, however, had won the Indian Grand Prix with a jump of 16.59m.

The composition of the team was on expected lines except for one or two and all the 10 athletes, who crossed the qualifying mark during the Federation Cup got selected, while three who did well during the first leg of the Indian Grand Prix on February 27 at Patiala, also made the cut.

Indian Track and Field Squad – Hear it from the officials

According to the AFI officials, they have picked a balanced squad.

“The selection of the team was a smooth affair and all the decisions were unanimous among the members. We have chosen all those who have crossed the AFI’s qualifying standards and some more who got close to the mark,” chairman of selection committee GS Randhawa told PTI.

“We decided that we need not fill up all the quota of 37 because we cannot send the athletes who were much below the qualifying standards. There is no point sending an athlete who has a remote chance of a medal,” he added.

“The Federation Cup served as a selection trial for the CWG, but we have always maintained that the performance of the athletes at the Grand Prix will also be considered for selection,” AFI secretary CK Valson said.

Asked about Kasana being picked despite skipping the Federation Cup, Randhawa said: “The selection committee members were told that Kasana’s coach and the team doctor advised him rest. That was why he did not take part in the Fed Cup. Since he crossed 80m at the IGP, we considered that he can be at the top bracket in the competition.”

Kasana cleared 80.04m at the Indian Grand Prix and since his mark was near the qualifying mark of 81.80m, he was included in the CWG team. He, however, did not take part in the Federation Cup, which may lead to the raised eyebrows from some quarters.

Valson also said that senior quartermilers Mohd. Anas and MR Poovamma have agreed to join the national camp from now on and that was why they were included in the men’s and women’s 4x400m relay teams. They were earlier training outside the national camp.

“Poovamma and Mohd. Anas have agreed to join the national camp and do training for the relays. Vijayakumari did not agree to it and so she was not selected. That was why we have selected just a five-member relay team (including Hima Das who will run individual 400m race),” Valson said.

Full list of Indian Track and Field Squad for 2018 CWG:


Jinson Johnson (men’s 1500m), Dharun Ayyasamy (400m, 4x400m relay), Tejaswin Shankar (high jump), Siddharth Yadav (high jump), Sreesankar (long jump), Arpinder Singh (triple jump), Rakesh Babu (triple jump), Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (shot put), Neeraj Chopra (javelin throw), Vipin Kasana (javelin throw), Irfan Kolothum Thodi (20km race walk), Manish Singh Rawat (20km race walk), Muhammed Anas Yahiya (4x400m relay), Jeevan Karekoppa Suresh (4x400m relay), Amoj Jacob (4x400m relay), Kunhu Mohamed (4x400m relay), Jithu Baby (4x400m relay), Arokia Rajiv (4x400m relay).


Hima Das (200m & 400m, 4x400m relay), Suriya Loganathan (10000m), Nayana James (long jump), Neena Pinto (long jump), Seema Punia (discus throw), Navjeet Kaur Dhillon (discus throw), Purnima Hembram (heptathlon), Soumya Baby (20km race walk), Khushbir Kaur (20km race walk), M R Poovamma (4x400m relay), Sonia Baishya (4x400m relay), Saritaben Laxmanbhai Gayakwad (4x400m relay), Juana Murmu (4x400m relay).

-- Advertisement -- Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now. Click the link above
Vardhan is an author who loves creativity. He enjoys experimenting in various fields. After completing his graduation, he was sure about one thing! His love for sports. He is now living his dream of being creative with words in the field of sports. He has since then always brought the latest news and updates for all the sports fans.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version