HomeNewsIndian Paddlers Conquer the Commonwealth TT Championships...
-- Advertisement --

Indian Paddlers Conquer the Commonwealth TT Championships…

- Advertisement -

Perceived as underdogs, Ayhika Mukherjee and Harmeet Desai stunned top guns to win the women’s and men’s singles, respectively, on Monday, which was the concluding day of the 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championship.

-- Advertisement --

Desai – who had summoned giant-killer Pang Yu En Koen to a defeat in the morning session at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium – upset top seed and compatiot G. Sathiyan in a highly entertaining men’s singles final. The game went right to the wire with the India No.1 making way in the end.

Things didn’t start well for Desai, was in the backseat as Sathiyan, the World No. 24 started the game on a strong footing in the first two games. However, the 26-year-old came all guns blazing out to make a stunning comeback and level the proceedings at 2-2. In the decider, with the scores tied at 3-3, it was Desai who took the big leap to clinch the gold with a 11-9 victory.

-- Advertisement --

As a result of the paddler’s impressive form, India came first in the medal table with 15 medals, 7 of which were gold.

Final Medals Table

Country Gold Silver Bronze
India 7 5 3
England 2 0 3
Singapore 0 0 6
Malaysia 0 0 1
Nigeria 0 0 1

Final Results

Men’s singles: Final: Harmeet Desai bt G. Sathiyan 9-11, 6-11, 11-5, 11-8, 17-15, 7-11, 11-9; Semifinals: Sathiyan bt Thomas Jarvis (Eng) 16-14, 11-6, 11-7, 11-9; Desai bt Pang Yu En Koen (Sgp) 10-12, 11-3, 11-6, 11-6, 11-2.

Women’s singles: Final: Ayhika Mukherjee bt Madhurika Patkar 11-6, 11-4, 11-9, 19-17; Semifinals: Mukherjee bt Ho Tin-Tin (Eng) 11-6, 11-6, 7-11, 11-4, 11-4; Patkar bt Sreeja Akula 11-8, 11-9, 9-11, 11-8, 14-12.

Men’s doubles: Final: Manav Thakkar & A. Amalraj bt G. Sathiyan & A. Sharath Kamal 8-11, 11-6, 13-11, 12-10; Semifinals: Sathiyan & Sharath bt Chua Shao Han Josh & Pang Yu En Koen (Sgp) 12-10, 11-4, 14-12; Thakkar & Amalraj bt Thomas Jarvis & Samuel Walker (Eng) 11-9, 8-11, 11-6, 11-5.

Women’s doubles: Final: Krtittwika Sinha Roy & Pooja Sahasrabudhe bt & Mousumi Paul & Sreeja Akula 11-9, 11-8, 9-11, 12-10; Semifinals: Sahasrabudhe & Krtittwika bt Goi Rui Xuan & Wong Xin Ru (Sgp) 11-7, 12-10, 11-9; Sreeja & Paul bt Sutirtha Mukherjee & Ayhika Mukherjee 11-8, 11-8, 11-6.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here