HomeNewsIndia Tour of South Africa 2021 - All You Need to Know
-- Advertisement --

India Tour of South Africa 2021 – All You Need to Know

- Advertisement -

After winning the Test and ODI series against New Zealand on the home soil, the Indian cricket team’s confidence is in seventh heaven. Following the victory, the men in blue are set to play against South Africa. India will play 3 ODIs and 3 test matches against the African nation (26th Dec – 23rd Jan) on their home ground. Earlier, the series was scheduled from 17th December 2021, but now the concerned authority has shifted it to 26th December 2021 (Boxing day).

-- Advertisement --

The 1st test will begin on 26th December 2021, whereas the ODI will kickstart from 19th January 2022.

The T20 matches which were earlier scheduled in the itinerary have been postponed till the further announcements, Cricket South Africa has announced. 

-- Advertisement --

Latest Updates

Amid the rising cases of Omicron, team India has decided to take chartered flights to travel South Africa. The team will directly enter the biosecure accommodations, the CSA has announced.

On Monday, BCCI tweeted that Rohit Sharma has been dropped from the Test series. The newly appointed white-ball captain of the Indian cricket team sustained a left hamstring injury during the training session in Mumbai. Rohit has been replaced by Priyank Panchal. It is expected that Rohit will be fit to play the 3 match ODI series.

-- Advertisement --

Virat Kohli (ex-Indian ODI skipper) will not be a part of the ODI series. As per a report published in TIMES OF INDIA, Kohli had informed the Indian cricket board (BCCI) that he will be on a short break for personal reasons.

Test match Fixtures

Match Venue Time Date
1st test match SuperSport park, Centurion 1:30 pm 26-30 December 2021
2nd test match Wanderers, Johannesburg 1:30 pm 03-07 January 2022
3rd test match Newlands, Cape town 2:00 pm 11-15 January 2022

Indian squad for 3 test matches against South Africa

Virat Kohli (captain), Priyank Panchal, KL Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shradul Thakur, Md. Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh pant (WK), Mayank Aggarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara.

Standby players:- Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nawaswala.

However, the vice-captain for the Test series after Rohit Sharma’s dismissal has not been finalized by the BCCI yet.

One Day Internationals Fixtures

Match  Venue Time Date
1st ODI Paarl 2:00 pm 19 January 2022
2nd ODI Paarl 2:00 pm 21 January 2022
3rd ODI Cape Town 2:00 pm 23 January 2022

The final team for the One Day Internationals has not been finalized yet by the BCCI.

[For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to the KreedOn network today-

KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport]

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Aditya Mishra
Aditya Mishra
Aditya Mishra is currently working as a head of content and manager at KreedOn. He is an ardent defense enthusiast and was a SSB aspirant (SERVICE- SELECTION-BOARD) during his college days. Moreover he has represented his state of C.G in All India Senior National Athletics Championship (Lucknow) and winner of several state athletics tournament (400m). Aditya did his PG Diploma from the prestigious Indian Institute of Mass Communication. With a vision to bring substantial change in India's sporting ecosystem, he along with his team are working for the development of Indian athletes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here