HomeSportsCricketIndia Tour of NZ: BCCI announces squad; Here're the surprise misses
-- Advertisement --

India Tour of NZ: BCCI announces squad; Here’re the surprise misses

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

The National Selection Committee, led by MSK Prasad, announced the 16-member squad for the five-match T20I series against New Zealand late on Sunday. The Indian team‘s tour of New Zealand will commence from January 24 in Auckland Sunday.

Vice-captain Rohit Sharma and pacer Mohammed Shami, who had been rested for the 3-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, have returned to the squad.

-- Advertisement --

However, Kerala wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, who was called up for the home series against the Lions, misses out on the plane.

He had waited for the call-up for over five years. But when it came, Samson could last just 2 balls.

-- Advertisement --

Hardik Pandya, who was earlier touted to be a part of the team, has also failed to make it to the team.

Navdeep Saini, who was called in the place of Shami, ended up as the highest wicket-taker in the two games played, was adjudged as the ‘Player of the Series’. And the Delhi-based cricketer was rewarded with a place in the NZ tour as well.

Vijay Shankar of Tamil Nadu will replace an injured Pandya in the India A team for the shadow tour. The Baroda all-rounder couldn’t pass a fitness test held before the departure to New Zealand.

India will be playing five T20Is against New Zealand followed by a three ODIs and two Test matches.

-- Advertisement --

India squad for New Zealand T20I series

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami.

India absolutely crushed Sri Lanka in the last two games after the first match was ruled out due to rain.

After winning the second T20I by 7 wickets, the Men in Blue posted a massive total of 201 in the third. The visitors could manage only 123, losing the series 2-0.

Shardul Thakur was adjudged as the ‘Man of the Match’ for scoring 22* off just 8 balls besides scalping two wickets.

India next welcome Australia for a three-match ODI series starting from 14th January at the Wankhede stadium.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here