HomeSportsCricketIndia's Tour of New Zealand 2019 Preview: Full Schedule, Venue, Live Streaming

India’s Tour of New Zealand 2019 Preview: Full Schedule, Venue, Live Streaming

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

After creating numerous records in Australia of becoming the first Asian country to win a Test series and also recording India’s first bilateral ODI series victory, Indian Captain Virat Kohli and his ‘Men in Blue’ will now tour Australia’s neighbour – New Zealand.


-- Advertisement --

Team India is set to play a five-match ODI series starting on Wednesday, January 23 at McLean Park, Napier. Following the ODI series, the two teams will play a 3 match T20I series beginning on 6th February at Westpac Stadium in Wellington.

India vs New Zealand 2019 ODI Series Schedule:

1st ODI: January 23 at McLean Park, Napier (7:30 IST)

-- Advertisement --

2nd ODI: January 26 at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui (7:30 IST)

3rd ODI: January 28 at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui (7:30 IST)

-- Advertisement --
-- Advertisement --

4th ODI: January 31 at Seddon Park, Hamilton (7:30 IST)

5th ODI: February 3 at Westpac Stadium, Wellington (7:30 IST)

India vs New Zealand 2019 T20 Series Schedule:

1st T20I: February 6 at Westpac Stadium, Wellington (12:30 IST)

2nd T20I: February 8 at Eden Park, Auckland (11:30 IST)

3rd T20I: February 10 at Seddon Park, Hamilton (12:30 IST)

India has rested it’s fast bowling spearhead Jasprit Bumrah for the tour. Youngsters Khaleel Ahmed and Mohammad Siraj will get an opportunity to audition for the upcoming World Cup. Finally, it looks like Virat Kohli has sorted his batting line up with MS Dhoni at number 4 and Kedar Jadhav and Dinesh Karthik to follow.


Bhubaneswar Kumar has also found his rhythm. However, there is still a question mark over the inclusion of Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul in the squad. Shubman Gill and Vijay Shankar have been called up as a replacement.

On the other hand, New Zealand is a team to beat in the limited overs format. They have experience in Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Tim Southee, Trent Boult and the ever so reliable captain Kane Williamson. New Zealand spinners Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi have troubled India in the past.

India squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, K Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Shubman Gill.

New Zealand squad (first three ODIs):

Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

What does the history say?

India and New Zealand have played a total 101 ODI’s against each other. India has won 51 of those while the Kiwis have beaten India on 44 occasions. The last time when India toured New Zealand in 2013-14, the Blackcaps swept India by a margin of 4-0.

The two teams have played 8 T20 international matches between them wherein the Kiwis always had an upper hand over the Men in Blue. New Zealand has won 6 out of the 8 T20Is played.

Prediction :

This tour won’t be a cake walk for sure to Virat Kohli and his men. They will have a hard battle against Kane Williamson and the Blackcaps. The runner-ups of the World Cup 2015 – New Zealand has experience in the team and are playing in their own backyard. India will struggle to find their third seamer and the middle order will definitely be tested. Be sure to see plenty of sixes on the small New Zealand grounds. It will be an even contest for sure.

Where and how to watch India vs New Zealand live:

The TV Broadcast for India vs New Zealand will be live on Star Sports. While the online streaming will be available on Hotstar.

For more interesting updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

-- Advertisement --
Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now. Click the link above
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --