HomeSportsCricketIndia vs New Zealand: Easy 8 Wickets Win for New Zealand in...
-- Advertisement --

India vs New Zealand: Easy 8 Wickets Win for New Zealand in Final Match of the Series

- Advertisement -

New Zealand beat India by 8 wickets in the third and final ODI, today at Hamilton. However, India won the first two games and the series by  2-1.

-- Advertisement --

At the conclusion of the three-match series, India stand third – behind Australia and New Zealand – on 12 points from 12 matches with six wins and six defeats to their name. Australia tops the table with 16 points from nine games and New Zealand have 14 points. The ICC Championships table will decide who participates in the 2021 World Cup.

-- Advertisement --

Chasing a target of 150, New Zealand women cricketers Suzie Bates and captain Amy Satterthwaite put up a second wicket partnership of 84, putting a stop to the fall of wickets and clinching the game. Bates made 57 (64) which included 8 fours and 1 six while Satterthwaite remained not out on 66 off 74 balls which included 9 fours and a six.

This was captain Mithali Raj‘s 200th ODI match. She became the first woman cricketer to have played 200 ODI games. She has featured in 200 ODI games out of 263 ODIs India have played. Her international career is the 4th longest after Sachin Tendulkar, Sanath Jayasuriya and Javed Miandad.

-- Advertisement --

As it happened:

Batting first, India had a bad start. India’s in form and attacking batsman Smriti Mandhana made only 1(7) when S Devine caught her off Anna Peterson. 18-year-old sensation Jemimah Rodriguez also couldn’t make much. She made 12 (20). Captain Mithali Raj also made only 9 (28). T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur along with Deepti Sharma stitched together a partnership of 48 before Kaur was bowled by Peterson. She made 24 (40).

Deepti Sharma was the highest run-scorer for India. She made 52 (90) including 4 boundaries. Hemalatha contributed 13 (32) while Jhulan Goswami remained not out on 12 (17). The Indian team was bundled out for 149 in 44 overs.

Anna Peterson took the most 4 wickets for New Zealand while Lea Tahuhu picked up 3 wickets. Amelia Kerr also claimed 2 wickets.

-- Advertisement --

New Zealand Innings

Chasing a below average target of 150, the experienced Suzie Bates made 57 (64) including 8 fours and a six while captain Amy Satterthwaite remained not out on 66 (74). Lauren Down was run out on 10 (19). Devine remained not out on 17 (19). Poonam Yadav claimed the lone wicket of Suzie Bates. New Zealand chased down the total under 30 overs and 8 wickets in hand.

For the latest updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here