HomeSportsFootballIndia Clinches 5th SAFF Title By Beating Nepal
-- Advertisement --

India Clinches 5th SAFF Title By Beating Nepal

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

India kept it’s winning streak going at the SAFF Women’s Championship by lifting their fifth title in a row.  The Indian women finished it off with a 3-1 victory over hosts Nepal in the finals here on Friday


-- Advertisement --

This win is India’s 23rd unbeatable victory in the championship since the tournament started in 2010.

Goals from Dalima Chhibber, Grace Dangmei and substitute Anju Tamang saw India lift the trophy in front of the home crowd at the Sahid Rangashala Stadium.

Also Read: Best Indian Women Footballers Who Are Making Their Mark

-- Advertisement --

India vs Nepal Final

The final match began with great competition from both the sides trying their best to overpower the other.

India, however, had a better start when in the fourth minute itself, Sandhiya laid off a ball for Sanju to the wing. The shoot was perfectly defended by the Nepal keeper.

-- Advertisement --

Like the semifinals, Dalima Chhibber opened the scoring for India in the finals too. In the 26th minute, India’s first goal was scored by Chhibber. She kicked the ball past the defending keeper from 30 yards and took India to a 1-0 lead. India had another chance of scoring a goal in the sixth minute when Ratanbala Devi kicked the ball saved midway by the Nepal goalie.

In the 33rd minute, Nepal got its first goal and both the teams were on the equal lead. Sabitra was the player who equalised for the hosts. In the break, the score was 1-1.

In the second half, India took the lead with Sanju scoring a second goal for India in the 63rd minute.

In the middle of the second half, the Indian Coach Maymol Rocky replaced Sandhiya with Anju Tamang at the top of the pitch. The switch proved advantageous for Indians as in the 78th minute, Anju slammed the ball on the volley for India’s third goal and India got a 3-0 lead.

Meanwhile, Nepal tried its best to break the lead but Indians were too tough to be overpowered. With a 3-1 lead, India won the final match and has clinched all five editions of SAFF championship.

India Playing XI in the finals

Aditi Chauhan (GK); Jabamani Tudu, Sweety Devi (Ranjana Chanu 90’), Ashalata Devi, Dalima Chhibber; Indumathi Kathiresan, Sangita Basfore, Ratanbala Devi; Sanju, Dangmei Grace, Sandhiya Ranganathan (Anju Tamang 64’).

The SAFF Women’s Championship

The SAFF Women’s Championship, also called the South Asian Football Federation Women’s Cup, is a tournament for the women’s national football teams governed by the South Asian Football Federation. It started in 2010 and is held every two years.

There are seven members currently competing in the tournament namely Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. So far India has clinched every edition, beating Nepal three times and Bangladesh once in the final.

For the latest content on Indian sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Bhawna Kothari
Bhawna Kothari
Lover of cultures, varied colors, and underdogs, Bhawna is a by-heart and professional playwright. Hailing from a journalism & communication background, she incorporates a careful study at both flips of the coin which is essentially required to be analytical in thoughts and words. Actively abreast of the current affairs around the globe, she likes knowing and bringing into light the unexplored. Problem solving via the power of content is what inspires her and hence KreedOn, a platform created for the betterment of sports ecosystem in India, is now her happy workplace!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here