HomeSportsHockeySultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019: India Beats Poland 10-0
-- Advertisement --

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019: India Beats Poland 10-0

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

Five-time champions Team India yet again mauled a hapless Poland 10-0 in their final league match of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey tournament on Friday. India sustained its streak in the tournament and clinched 13 points from five league matches.

Also, striker Mandeep Singh kept his rich form by scoring a brace to lead his team towards victory. Mandeep became the highest goal-scorer in the tournament with seven goals and Varun scored five goals.

-- Advertisement --

In the 50th and 51st minute, Mandeep Singh hit consecutive goals taking his personal tally to seven in the tournament. Also, the 24-year-old player had recently scored a hat-trick in India’s 7-3 win over Canada.

India vs Poland: As it happened

The match was expected to be one-sided and it turned out to be the same as India took a 2-0 lead in the seventh minute itself because of Vivek and Sumit’s goals. They left the Polish players in a daze as they scored tremendous goals.

-- Advertisement --

The most productive hour of the match was in the second quarter with India finding the target four times. With half of the match played, India was leading Poland 6-0. Then in the last thirty minutes of the match, they added four more points bringing the Poland team to their knees.

In the 24th minute, India lost forward Shilanand Lakra to a green card but luckily secured another penalty corner. Varun did not miss the opportunity and hit the target with a powerful flick to hand his side a commanding 5-0 lead.

Therefore, India’s maintenance of their sustained streak in the tournament comes from 13 points collected out of five league matches with the aid of four wins and a draw.

-- Advertisement --

Also Read: KreedOn’s Preview and Prediction on Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019

Other goal scorers of the team

Besides Mandeep, other goal scorers in the Indian team were drag-flicker Varun Kumar (18th, 25th) striking twice, Vivek Sagar Prasad (1st), Sumit Kumar (7th), Surender Kumar (19th), Simranjeet Singh (29th), Nilankanta Sharma (36th) and Amit Rohitdas (55th).

However, the Polish goalkeeper was a tough competition as he prevented some excellent goals by Gursahibjit Singh and Simranjeet Singh at bay early in the fourth quarter.

Mandeep Singh won the man-of-the-match for the second time. On 30 March 2019, India will take on Korea in the Final at 18.05 hours IST.

For the latest content on Indian sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Nandini Sharma
Nandini Sharma
A college student, Nandini is a passionate sports lover. She loves watching sports and curiously keeps checking the current scores of the matches in between her classes. Also, she loves to pen down a lot. And hence, with Kreedon, Nandini is happily connecting both her interests well.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here