HomeNewsKreedOn BanterIND vs ENG 2024: Akash Deep’s Debut Test Wicket Denied, Responds with...
-- Advertisement --

IND vs ENG 2024: Akash Deep’s Debut Test Wicket Denied, Responds with 3-Wicket Burst

- Advertisement -

Ind vs Eng Test 2024: After toiling tirelessly in the Ranji Trophy for Bengal over several years, Akash Deep finally unlocked the doors to the Indian cricket team. His debut came in the fourth Test against England in Ranchi, where Indian head coach Rahul Dravid presented him with the coveted cap on February 23. Akash Deep had an auspicious beginning, making an impact early in the match by dismissing Zak Crawley. The England opener was left bewildered as his off-stump took an unexpected stroll.

-- Advertisement --

However, Akash’s celebration was short-lived, interrupted by the third umpire who signaled a no-ball in Ranchi. Crawley returned to the crease, leaving Akash visibly disappointed. Nevertheless, the wait for his debut wicket was brief. Shortly after the setback, Akash claimed the scalps of Ben Duckett and Ollie Pope within three consecutive deliveries. Both Duckett and Pope were England’s top run-scorers in the ongoing Test, and dismissing them undoubtedly boosted the debutant’s confidence.

-- Advertisement --

In the case of Duckett, the opening batsman edged the ball to the wicket-keeper, Dhruv Jurel, who made a straightforward catch. After scoring 11 runs from 21 deliveries, the batsman departed, and the visitors found themselves at 47/1. Shortly thereafter, Pope fell victim to an exceptional in-swinging delivery. Taking the third batting position, the 26-year-old advanced down the pitch, and the ball struck his pads, resulting in leg-byes according to the umpire’s decision. Initially, on-field umpire Rod Tucker believed it was not out, but Jurel swiftly approached Rohit Sharma, urging him to review the decision. The Indian captain opted for the Decision Review System (DRS), and all three reds confirmed Pope’s dismissal. Despite this, the tension continued. On the very next delivery, Joe Root faced a potential dismissal as the ball made contact with his pads. Tucker once again declared it not out. Jurel, however, affirmed that the ball did hit the pad first, but the impact was outside the line of the stumps. Despite the confirmation, Rohit decided to use the DRS, resulting in the loss of a review.


Captain Cool, MS DhoniAlso Read | Captain Cool – MS Dhoni | Mister Chill almost Iced


-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here