HomeSportsCricketICC ODI World Cup 2023 Points Table: Updated Team Standings
-- Advertisement --

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Points Table: Updated Team Standings

- Advertisement -

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, a quadrennial One Day International (ODI) cricket competition contested by national teams and organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). India is hosting the tournament solely for the first time. The tournament is taking place in ten different stadiums, in ten cities across India. the tournament opener was played on October 5 while the finals will take place on November 19, 2023. England is the defending champion, having won the 2019 tournament by defeating New Zealand in the final at Lord’s in London.

-- Advertisement --

Which teams are participating in the 2023 World Cup?

The host nation, India, automatically qualified. The other seven teams is Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa were selected based on their performance in the Super League, a series of matches played between 2020 and 2023. The remaining spots were filled through the World Cup qualifier. The bottom 5 teams in the super league battled with the top 5 ranked teams amongst the associate nations, where Netherlands and Sri Lanka emerged as the winners. It is unfortunate that two-time world champions West Indies did not qualify for the tournament.

Format of the ICC World Cup 2023

The league stage will be played in the round-robin format. All 10 teams will play against each other once in this format. The league stage will feature 45 matches, with the proceedings ending on November 12 with the match between India and Netherlands in Bengaluru.

Top 4 teams on the points table will race into the Semi-Final. Winners of the knockouts will face each other in the finals on 19th November 2023 which will take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

-- Advertisement --

A Look at ICC World Cup Mascots | Game On with Mascot Mania - KreedOnAlso Read: A Look at ICC World Cup Mascots | Unveiling the Mascot Magic

New Rules in the 2023 World Cup

1. New boundary rule: There has been considerable debate regarding the shorter boundaries at some Indian sites, however the International Cricket Council (ICC) has since enacted a new guideline stating that the boundary shall not be less than 70 meters and can surpass that.

2. Soft Signal: The ICC has eliminated the soft-signal rule, which required on-field umpires to make an initial decision on an appeal before referring it to the third umpire. Every judgment on a controversial appeal will henceforth be made by the third umpire.

-- Advertisement --

Points Table of ICC ODI World Cup 2023

1  India 9 9 0 0 0 +2.570 18
2  South Africa 9 7 2 0 0 +1.261 14
3  Australia 9 7 2 0 0 +0.841 14
4  New Zealand 9 5 4 0 0 +0.743 10
5  Pakistan 9 4 5 0 0 -0.199 8
6  Afghanistan 9 4 5 0 0 -0.336 8
7  England 9 3 6 0 0 -0.572 6
8  Bangladesh 9 2 7 0 0 -1.087 4
9  Sri Lanka 9 2 7 0 0 -1.419 4
10  Netherlands 9 2 7 0 0 -1.825 4

How will teams qualify for the semifinal in this tournament?

Two points will be awarded for a win, and one point will be granted if there is no result due to inclement weather. As a result, seven victories in nine league games would be sufficient for a team to advance to the semifinals. If two or more teams have the same number of points, the number of victories will be used first, followed by the net run rate to determine which team will advance to the semifinals. The top four team from the league stage will advance to the semi-finals.

Teams finishing first and fourth will play the first semifinal, the other two will play the second semifinal.

What happens when scores are level at the end of a match?

Unlike the contentious regulation that decided the 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand via boundary-count rule following a deadlocked Super Over, the rule for the 2023 edition of the 50-over event uses Super Overs as a tiebreaker. As a result, if teams are still tied after a Super Over this time, there will be a second Super Over, followed by more until a winner is declared.

Cricket Equipment: Bats, Balls, Protective Gear | KreedOnAlso Read: Gear Up for Glory: The Ultimate Guide to Cricket Equipment

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here