HomeSportsCricketICC Test team of the year revealed: No Place for Kohli and...
-- Advertisement --

ICC Test team of the year revealed: No Place for Kohli and Rohit; Only 2 Indians featured in Australia-dominated WTC XI

- Advertisement -

Rohit Sharma, the appointed captain of the Men’s One Day International (ODI) Team of the Year 2023, did not find a place in the Test XI as per the announcement by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday. The ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year for 2023 was dominated by Australia, the victorious team in the World Test Championship (WTC), with numerous nominations.

-- Advertisement --

Pat Cummins, the pace spearhead, assumed the leadership role in the ICC Test Team of the Year, featuring five Australian players. Cummins, instrumental in Australia securing their maiden WTC title, played a key role in their sixth World Cup triumph in the 50-over format. Apart from leading the Test team, Cummins was also in contention for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. Under Cummins’ captaincy, Australia successfully retained the Ashes last year, and he topped the bowling charts with an impressive 42 wickets in 11 games.

ICC Test Team of The Year

-- Advertisement --

Jadeja commenced the season by securing a five-wicket performance and contributing a pivotal half-century against Australia. In the WTC final versus Australia, the accomplished all-rounder claimed four wickets and played a crucial role with a 48-run inning. Ashwin, a seasoned all-rounder, stands as the fourth nominee for the ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year and was featured in the WTC XI for 2023. Notably, he emerged as the leading wicket-taker for India in the high-profile Border-Gavaskar series. Despite not being selected in India’s XI for the WTC final against Australia, the spinner is set to lead the bowling attack in the upcoming home series against England.

With an impressive average exceeding 45, Virat Kohli scored a total of 932 runs in 17 matches during the previous WTC season. Meanwhile, Indian captain Rohit Sharma accumulated 758 runs in 11 games, playing a pivotal role in guiding India to the WTC final against Australia. Despite their notable contributions, both Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma were notably absent from the prestigious WTC XI for the year 2023. Instead, the ICC Test team of the year featured only two Indian players, namely the seasoned all-rounders Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2023:

Usman Khawaja, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Travis Head, Ravindra Jadeja, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (C), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Stuart Broad.

-- Advertisement --

cricket batting pads - KreedOnAlso Read | Top 10 Best Cricket Batting Pads | Power Up Your Protection

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here