HomeSportsCricketICC World T20 Cup 2020: Fixtures for Men's and Women's Team Released
-- Advertisement --

ICC World T20 Cup 2020: Fixtures for Men’s and Women’s Team Released

- Advertisement -

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the schedule of the men’s and women’s T20 World Cup 2020 that is to be held in Australia.

-- Advertisement --

The Indian men’s cricket team are placed in Group 2 alongside the likes of Afghanistan, England, South Africa, and two other qualifying nations. The men in blue’s campaign will commence on a tricky note with a clash against South Africa.

The women’s cricket team are placed in a challenging draw as well including Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka along with another qualifying nation. They will face a stiff challenge in the tournament opener – a match against defending champions and hosts Australia.

-- Advertisement --

Also Read | Indian National Cricket Team: The Rise of the Men in Blue

T20 World Cups: Same Year, Same Country

For the first time ever, the T20 World Cups would be scheduled in the same year and in the same country itself. Moreover, the women’s and men’s finals are to be contested at the same venue (and the world’s biggest stadiums), the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

-- Advertisement --

As many as ten women’s teams will be competing in the 23 matches between February 21 to March 8, with the tournament commencing with a tie between the reigning champions Australia playing against India in the big opener in Sydney.

The men’s competition will commence later in the year, from October 18 to November 15. It will start with several qualifying matches before the competition kicks off. The opener will witness hosts Australia take on Pakistan in the Super 12 group stages on October 24 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Australia, the West Indies, Pakistan, New Zealand, and the two qualifying nations make up one half of the draw with the reigning champions, the Windies commencing their title defence against the Kiwis on October 25.

Afghanistan, England, India, South Africa, and two other qualifying nations complete the other half of the draw.

-- Advertisement --

As for the women’s fixtures, four-time winners Australia is placed in Group A alongside India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and one qualifier, whereas the West Indies along with the 2009 champions England, Pakistan, South Africa, and the second qualifying team are placed in the Group B.

The women’s final will be held on March 8, coinciding with International Women’s Day whereas the men’s final will be played on November 15.

Women’s T20 World Cup Schedule

Women’s Group Stage Matches: February 21 – March 3

Group A: Australia, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 1

Group B: England, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Qualifier 2

Semi-finals: March 5

Final: March 8

Men’s T20 World Cup Schedule

Men’s Qualifying Matches: October 18 – October 23

Group Stage Matches: October 24 – November 8

Group 1: Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, two qualifiers

Group 2: Afghanistan, England, India, South Africa, two qualifiers

Semi-finals: November 11 and November 12

Final: November 15

For more updates on Cricket, stay tuned to KreedOn, the Voice of Indian Sports.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya is the Head of Content at KreedOn. He is a thorough tech-enthusiast and believes that innovation is the answer to all the problems prevalent in the society. Monish graduated from University of Pune with a degree in Civil Engineering before pursuing a post-graduate diploma course in intellectual property rights. A die-hard football fan, he has represented his college at various football competitions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here