HomeEventsAsian Games 2023Hangzhou Asian Games 2023: Indian Men’s & Women’s Cricket Teams
-- Advertisement --

Hangzhou Asian Games 2023: Indian Men’s & Women’s Cricket Teams

- Advertisement -

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) unveiled the 15-member Indian men’s cricket team and a 20-member women’s cricket team, including five stand-by players for the upcoming Asian Games 2023 in Hangzhou, China. The event, set to run from September 23 to October 8, will feature the T20 format, with matches taking place at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

-- Advertisement --

Given the clash with the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup, starting in India on October 5, the Indian men’s cricket team at the Hangzhou Games will be composed mostly of rising talents, as key players like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will be absent. Meanwhile, the T20 format of the women’s cricket event at the Asian Games 2023, Hangzhou is scheduled for September 19-28, with all matches set to be hosted at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

Despite the absence of some regulars, the men’s squad heading to Hangzhou will showcase a group of highly promising youngsters, many of whom have impressed in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Among them, 26-year-old Ruturaj Gaikwad, representing Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, will have the honor of captaining the Indian team at the Asian Games.

-- Advertisement --

 Also Read | Asian Games 2023: Complete List of Countries Participating in the Event

India’s cricket teams, both men and women, are set to compete in the Asian Games cricket competition for the first time. Cricket was featured in the Asian Games previously at Guangzhou 2010 and Incheon 2014, with Bangladesh winning the first edition and Sri Lanka as the defending champions. Afghanistan secured the runners-up position in both instances.

Hangzhou Asian Games 2023: Indian Men’s & Women’s Cricket Squad | KreedOn
Image Source: Olympics

This marks the second appearance of the men’s cricket team in a multi-sport event, following their participation in the 1998 Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur, where they played in a 50-over format. However, those matches were not recognized as international fixtures and were classified as List A games.

The Indian women’s cricket team is also gearing up for their second appearance in a multi-sport event. During the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham last year (2022), they secured a commendable silver medal, unfortunately losing to Australia in the final.

-- Advertisement --

Asian Games 2023 Indian Men’s Cricket Team – Full Squad

Team India: Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wicket-keeper)

Standby players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan

Asian Games 2023 Indian Women’s Cricket Team – Full Squad

Team India: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry (wicket-keeper), Anusha Bareddy

Standby players: Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, Pooja Vastrakar

-- Advertisement --

Top 10 wicket keeping gloves-Know finest gloves for cricket game- Buyer’s Guide- KreedOnAlso read |  Top 10 Best Wicket Keeping Gloves

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here