HomeSportsFootballFootball Records | Golden Boot Winners List | Do you know who...

Football Records | Golden Boot Winners List | Do you know who won the maximum golden boots?

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

Sports is all about hard work and recognition. Sure money might be another factor, but athletes focus more on winning personal accolades and setting records. In football, there are many individual trophies and Golden Shoe is one of them. Here is the complete golden boot winners list.

The golden boot was introduced in 1968 and was termed as “Soulier d’Or”. 

-- Advertisement --

Earlier, the Golden Shoe was given to anyone, regardless of how difficult the league was or how many games the athlete had played in, including the majority of goals scored in Cup competition, but not European goals, just goals scored in different leagues. 

But following a multitude of criticisms, the European Sports Media started giving the Golden Shoe to players based on their points total. It allows players from harder leagues to win even if they scored fewer goals than players from weaker leagues. Players from England, Spain, and Germany received 2.0 points, whilst goals scored in other football leagues such as the French Ligue 1, Dutch League received 1.5 points.

Golden Boot Winners List

PlayerNo. of bootsSeasons
Lionel Messi62009-10, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17, 2017/18, 2018/19
Cristiano Ronaldo42007–08, 2010–11, 2013–14 (shared), 2014–15
Eusébio21967-68, 1972-73
Gerd Müller21969-70, 1971-72
Dudu Georgescu21974-75, 1976-77
Fernando Gomes21982-83, 1984-85
Ally McCoist21991-92, 1992-93
Mário Jardel21998-99, 2001-02
Thierry Henry22003-04, 2004-05
Diego Forlán22004-05, 2008-09
Luis Suárez22013–14 (shared), 2015–16

Golden boot winners list: Lionel Messi

Messi receives his sixth Golden Shoe | KreedOn
Image Source: FC Barcelona
-- Advertisement --

Lionel Messi is the record winner of the European golden boot. The former Barcelona man has won it 6 times and is the first player to win the boot three times consecutively. He stands at 1st place in the golden boot winners list.

Golden boot winners list: Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo golden boots - KreedOn
Image Source:Regions4

At no. 2 in the golden boot winners list, we have Cristiano Ronaldo. Cristiano makes a room in this list behind Messi with 4 golden boots. The Portuguese won three with Los Blancos and one with his current team Manchester United, back in 2007. 

-- Advertisement --

top 10 football clubs in the world - KreedOnAlso Read: Top 10 Best Football Club in the World

Golden boot winners list: Eusebio
golden boot winners list | Eusebio | KreedOn
Image Source: Outlook

Eusebio was the first player to win the golden boot in 1968. He hold the 3rd spot in the golden boot winners list. The Portuguese again won the award in 1972 and won both his boots with the Primeira Liga side, SL Benfica. 

Golden boot winners list: Gerd Muller

Gerd Mueller | KreedOn
Image Source: Pinterest


-- Advertisement --

Gerd Muller is one of the greatest footballers of all time, was the first player to win the boot twice. He won both the golden boot with German champions Bayern Munich and was also the leading goalscorer in the club’s history.

Dudu Georgescu

Dudu Georgescu | KreedOn
Image Source: Alchetron

Dudu Georgescu is a former Romanian striker and coach. Dudu won two golden boots with Romanian Liga 1 side Dinamo București. He was regarded as one of the best strikers and was also awarded as Romanian Player of the year in 1976.

Fernando Gomes

Fernando Gomes | KreedOn
Image Source: MARCA

Known for his famous quote, ‘Scoring goals is like having an orgasm’, Fernando Gomes enjoyed great success with FC Porto. The Portuguese striker won both awards for being a top scorer in Primeira Liga. 

Ally McCoist
golden boot winners list | Ally McCoist | KreedOn
Image Source: Pinterest

Ally McCoist MBE is a famous Scotland-born footballer and has been a manager and a football pundit. The Bellshill-born striker also won golden boots back to back with Scottish giants Rangers in the years 1991 and 1992. 

Mario Jardel

Mario Jarde | golden boot winners list - KreedOn
Image Source: Prime Time Zone

Gremio legend Mario Jardel was one of the best strikers in Brazil. The Brazilian, however, moved to Europe and won both his golden boots in the Primeira Liga, one with FC Porto and the second one with Sporting CP. 

Thierry Henry

Thierry Henry | golden boot winners list - KreedOn
Image Source: Arsenal Pics

Regarded as one of the best strikers in the Premier League, Henry is another gem who won back-to-back golden boots with Arsenal for seasons 2004/5 and 2005/6. The Frenchman was a key figure at the Emirates, who later won trophies at Barca.

Diego Forlan

Diego Forlan | KreedOn
Image Source: MARCA

Diego Forlan is Uruguay’s one of the greatest strikers of all time. A lethal finisher, Deigo won the golden boot with Villareal and shared the boot alongside Henry. The Uruguayan then later won the boot with Atletico Madrid, during the 2008-9 campaign.

Luis Suarez

Luis Suarez | KreedOn
Image Source: Regions4

Uruguayan have had some of the best strikers and Suarez was one of them. El pistero has two golden boots in his name, one he shared with Cristiano during the 2013/14 campaign with Liverpool and the second one with Spanish giants Barcelona. 

Golden Boots Winners list year wise: 2000 TO 2022

2021Robert LewandowskiBayern MunichBundesliga 4182
2020Ciro ImmobileLazioSerie A 3672
2019Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga3672
2018Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga3468
2017Lionel MessiBarcelona


Spanish La Liga 3774
2016Luis SuarezBarcelonaSpanish La Liga 4080
2015Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridSpanish La Liga4896
2014Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridSpanish La Liga3162
2013Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga4692
2012Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga50100
2011Cristiano RonaldoReal MadridSpanish La Liga4080
2010Lionel MessiBarcelonaSpanish La Liga3468
2009Diego ForlánAthletico MadridSpanish La Liga3264
2008Cristiano RonaldoMan UtdEnglish Premier League3162
2007Francesco TottiRomaItalian Serie A2652
2006Luca ToniFiorentinaItalian Serie A3162
2005Thierry HenryArsenalEnglish Premier League2550
2004Thierry HenryArsenalEnglish Premier League3060
2003Roy MakaayDeportivoSpanish La Liga2958
2002Mário JardelSportingPortugal Liga4284
2001Henrik Larsson CelticScottish Premier League3570
2000Kevin Phillips SunderlandEnglish Premier League3070


READ | Football In India and the world – Know everything about the sport

[For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to the KreedOn network today-

KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport]

-- Advertisement --
Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now. Click the link above
Abhishek Mishra
Greetings, I'm Abhishek Mishra, a passionate sports writer, and football fanatic. Currently, I'm pursuing Bachelor's in Journalism and Mass Communication from GGSIPU, DELHI. I have a keen interest in sports and I aspire to become a sports journalist. I want to work in the overall development of sports and also work towards the grassroots and athlete recognition of our country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --