HomeNewsDubai Para Badminton International 2021: India Finishes On High With 21 Medals

Dubai Para Badminton International 2021: India Finishes On High With 21 Medals

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

The Indian team concluded the Dubai Para-Badminton 2021 on the golden end. Team Indian bagged five gold, six silver, and ten bronze medals in total. The competition came to an end on Sunday.

-- Advertisement --

On the final day of the championship, current World No.1, Pramod Bhagat defeated his Indian compatriot Kumar Nitesh 21-17, 21-18. Both were competing in the SL3 (category) men’s singles final.

Bhagat performed spectacularly in the finals of the men’s doubles SL3- SL4 event too. He and his partner Manoj Sarkar beat compatriots Nitesh and Sukant Kadam (World No. 5) 21-18, 21-16. In the SL4 category, players could have an impairment in one or both legs and minimal impairment in walking/running balance. They must play standing.

-- Advertisement --

In another event, men’s singles SL4 finals, Kadam managed to bag a silver medal. He lost to French shuttler Lucas Mazur, 15-21, 6-21.

In the SL6 category, Nagar Krishna won the second gold for India. He was competing in the single’s event. He beat Malaysian shuttler Didin Taresoh 21-17, 21-18.

Manasi Joshi and Palak Kohli had to settle for silver in the women’s events.

Joshi couldn’t beat Ukraine’s Oksana Kozyna in the SL3 category. She lost 10-21,17-21. Whereas Kohli lost in the SU5 category to the Netherlands’ Megan Hollander, 18-21, 18-21.

In the mixed doubles WH1 event, India’s star para-shuttler Prem Kumar and his Russian partner Tatiana Gureeva beat Switzerland’s Luca Olgiati and Karin Suter-Erath. They win with 21-11, 21-18 in the final to grab the gold medal.

List of Indian medal winners at the Dubai Para-Badminton International 2021:

21 medals — 5 gold, 6 silver, 10 bronze — in the tournament.

  • Singles SL3: Pramod Bhagat (Gold), Kumar Nitesh (Silver), Manoj Sarkar (Bronze)
  • WH1 (Singles): Prem Kumar Ale (Bronze)
  • SL3 (Singles): Manasi Girishchandra Joshi (Silver) Charanjeet Kaur, Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar (Bronze)
  • Singles SH6: Nagar Krishna (Gold)
  • Doubles WH1 – WH2: Prem Kumar & Ale Abu Hubaida (Silver)
  • SL4 (Singles): Sukant Kadam (Silver)
  • Doubles SL3 – SL4: Pramod Bhagat & Manoj Sarkar (Gold), Sukant Kadam & Kumar Nitesh (Silver), Mohammad Arwaz Ansari & Deep Ranjan Bisoyee (Bronze)
  • Singles SU5: Palak Kohli (Silver)
  • Doubles SU5: Chirag Baretha & Rahul Kumar Verma (bronze)
  • Doubles SH6: Nagar Krishna & Raja Magotra (Gold)
  • Doubles SL3 – SU5: Palak Kohli & Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar (bronze), Manasi Girishchandra Joshi & Arati Janoba Patil (bronze)
  • Mixed doubles SL3-SU5: Pramod Bhagat & Palak Kohli (Bronze)
  • Combined medals – Mixed doubles WH1 – WH2: India’s Prem Kumar Ale & Russia’s Tatiana Gureeva (Gold), India’s Girishkumar Jayanthilal Sharma & Egypt’s Shaimaa Samy Ab D Ellatif (Bronze)

A very congratulations! to the entire Indian team for such an amazing performance. The Indian shuttlers never stop making the nation proud. You all did it once again.

Team #KreedOn extends heartiest well wishes to the entire squad and all the very best for the future endeavors #Jaihind

[For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to the KreedOn network today-

#KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport]


-- Advertisement --
Aditya Mishra
IIMC'n. National Level Athlete (400m- 50.23). Sports and Defence enthusiast. Busy decoding: "MANSHA-VACHA-KARMA"


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --