HomeAjinkya RahaneDeodhar Trophy Final: India C Lifts Up the Title; Ishan Kishan Sets...

Deodhar Trophy Final: India C Lifts Up the Title; Ishan Kishan Sets A New Record

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

In a close encounter, India C defeated India B in the final match by 29 runs to emerge champions in The Deodhar Trophy, played at Feroze Shah Kotla Stadium on Saturday.

The Jharkhand star player Ishan Kishan set up a new record by becoming the second youngest batsman to score a 100 in the Deodhar Trophy final. He notched this ton at the age of 20 years; just behind former Indian Cricket captain Sourav Ganguly, who smashed the century at the tournament’s final when he was 18 in the year 1991.

With this, Ishan also completed his third century in his List-A career.  While playing the final, Deodhar was initially struggling with just 6 runs from 31 balls. But soon, the cricketer picked up the momentum and smashed the century in just 76 balls. The left-handed batsman scored 114 runs in 87 balls with 11-fours and 6-sixes in his dashing innings.

-- Advertisement --

Not only this, in fact, Kishan and Ajinkya Rahane sustained a powerhouse partnership of 210 runs, thus leading their team to as huge a score as of 352 runs.

Image Source: india.com

Captain Ajinkya Rahane, notched a gritty 144 runs in 156 balls with nine boundaries and 3 sixes. Even after Kishan’s dismissal, Rahane kept his calm and built decent partnerships with other batsmen, thus giving a strong score to put up in the leaderboard. Rahane did full justice to his position as the skipper of his team and performed extremely well.

-- Advertisement --

This match saw both the teams making 675 runs together.  India B, too, gave a tough fight to its opponent till skipper Shreyas Iyer (148, 114b, 11×4, 8×6) was at the crease.

After Shreyas got dismissed in the 43rd over, India B got a little fluttered. He was the 7th batsman to get out and his team needed 44 more runs in 42 balls to win the final game. The target was not impossible, but there was no one to take it to the last and snatch the game, which was already AT the hands of India C.

-- Advertisement --

Shreyas Iyer has been included into the India T20I squad on Friday. And he has definitely proved it well by emerging as the top run scorer in this knockout phase.

The final scores of the team are as follows:

India C: 352/7 in 50 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 144 n.o., Ishan Kishan 114, Surya Kumar Yadav 39; Jaidev Unadkat 3/52, Mayank Markande 2/70) beat India B: 323 all out in 46.1 overs (Shreyas Iyer 148, Ruturaj Gaikwad 60, Ankush Bains 37; Pappu Roy 3/75, Nitin Saini 2/47) by 29 runs.

-- Advertisement --
-- Advertisement --
Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now. Click the link above
Bhawna Kothari
Lover of cultures, varied colors, and underdogs, Bhawna is a by-heart and professional playwright. Hailing from a journalism & communication background, she incorporates a careful study at both flips of the coin which is essentially required to be analytical in thoughts and words. Actively abreast of the current affairs around the globe, she likes knowing and bringing into light the unexplored. Problem solving via the power of content is what inspires her and hence KreedOn, a platform created for the betterment of sports ecosystem in India, is now her happy workplace!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --