HomeSportsFootballList of Durand cup winners – Meet the winners of India’s oldest...
-- Advertisement --

List of Durand cup winners – Meet the winners of India’s oldest football tournament

- Advertisement -

India does have a footballing history. The first page of Indian Football history was written in 1888 when the first edition of the Durand Cup was conducted in Shimla. The most amazing fact about the Durand Cup is that this is the world’s 3rd and Asia’s oldest football tournament. The fact of being the World’s 3rd oldest football tournament is really unbelievable, but it is what it is and all Indian football lovers are proud of it. Sadly, the domination of cricket, excessive emphasis on professionalism of ISL football clubs, and the habit of commercializing everything have impacted this historical tournament very badly. Despite the challenges, from 17th September 2022, the 131st edition of the Durand Cup will be held in Kolkata, Naihati, Guwahati, and Imphal. Let’s have a look at the Durand Cup winners list.

-- Advertisement --

Durand cup winners list

Before independence, the Durand cup was dominated by British Army teams. As soon as India became an Independent nation Indian clubs like Mohan Bagan AC and East Bengal Club started to dominate the league. The majority of the seasons have been won by I-League clubs. However, the shackles have been broken by FC Goa, an ISL club, when it became champion of Durand Cup 2021.

Mohun Bagan AC and East Bengal Club have won the tournament 16 times. The second best is Border Security Force with 7 titles.

-- Advertisement --

READ | Football In India and the world – Know everything about the sport

Complete list of Durand Cup Winners

Year Winners
1888 Royal Scots Fusiliers
1889 Highland Light Infantry
1889 Black Watch
1890 Highland Light Infantry
1891 King’s Own Scottish Borderers
1892 King’s Own Scottish Borderers
1893 Highland Light Infantry
1894 Highland Light Infantry
1895 Highland Light Infantry
1896 Somerset Light Infantry
1897 Black Watch
1898 Black Watch
1900 South Wales Borderers
1901 South Wales Borderers
1902 Hampshire Regiment
1903 Royal Irish Rifles
1904 North Staffordshire Regiment
1905 Royal Dragoons
1906 Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)
1907 Cameronians (Scottish Rifles)
1908 Lancashire Fusiliers
1909 Lancashire Fusiliers
1910 Royal Scots
1911 Black Watch
1912 Royal Scots
1913 Lancashire Fusiliers
1920 Black Watch
1921 Worcestershire Regiment
1922 Lancashire Fusiliers
1923 Cheshire Regiment
1924 Worcestershire Regiment
1925 Sherwood Foresters
1926 Durham Light Infantry
1927 York & Lancaster Regiment
1928 Sherwood Foresters
1929 York & Lancaster Regiment
1930 York & Lancaster Regiment
1931 Devonshire Regiment
1932 King’s Shropshire Light Infantry
1933 King’s Shropshire Light Infantry
1934 Royal Signals
1935 Border Regiment
1936 Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders
1937 Border Regiment
1938 South Wales Borderers
1940 Mohammedan SC (Kolkata)
1950 Hyderabad City Police
1951 Kingfisher East Bengal
1952 Kingfisher East Bengal
1953 Mohun Bagan AC
1954 Hyderabad City Police
1955 Madras Regimental Centre
1956 Kingfisher East Bengal
1957 Hyderabad City Police
1958 Madras Regimental Centre
1959 Mohun Bagan AC
1960 Kingfisher East Bengal
1960 Mohun Bagan AC and East Bengal Club (Joint Winners)
1961 Andhra Pradesh Police
1963 Mohun Bagan AC
1964 Mohun Bagan AC
1965 Mohun Bagan AC
1966 Gorkha Brigade
1967 Kingfisher East Bengal
1968 Border Security Force SC
1969 Gorkha Brigade
1970 Kingfisher East Bengal
1971 Border Security Force SC
1972 Kingfisher East Bengal
1973 Border Security Force SC
1974 Mohun Bagan AC
1975 Border Security Force SC
1976 Border Security Force and Jagatjit Cotton & Textile Mills FC (Joint Winners)
1976 Border Security Force SC
1977 Mohun Bagan AC
1978 Kingfisher East Bengal
1979 Mohun Bagan AC
1980 Mohun Bagan AC
1981 Border Security Force SC
1982 Kingfisher East Bengal
1982 Mohun Bagan AC and East Bengal Club ( Joint Winners)
1983 Jagatjit Cotton & Textile Mills FC
1984 Mohun Bagan AC
1985 Mohun Bagan AC
1986 Mohun Bagan AC
1987 Jagatjit Cotton & Textile Mills FC
1988 Border Security Force SC
1989 Kingfisher East Bengal
1990 Kingfisher East Bengal
1991 Kingfisher East Bengal
1992 Jagatjit Cotton & Textile Mills FC
1993 Kingfisher East Bengal
1994 Mohun Bagan AC
1995 Kingfisher East Bengal
1996 Jagatjit Cotton & Textile Mills FC
1997 FC Kochin
1998 Mahindra & Mahindra Allied Sports Club
1999 Salgaocar FC
2000 Mohun Bagan AC
2002 Mahindra United FC
2003 Kingfisher East Bengal
2004 Kingfisher East Bengal
2004 Salgaocar FC
2005 Army XI
2006 Dempo SC
2007 Churchill Brothers FC
2008 Mahindra United FC
2009 Churchill Brothers FC
2010 Chirag United SC
2011 Churchill Brothers FC
2012 Air India FC
2013 Mohammedan SC (Kolkata)
2014 Salgaocar FC
2016 Army Green
2019 Gokulam Kerala FC
2021 FC Goa

Durand Cup 2022

Durand Cup 2022 will start on 17th September 2022 and a total of 5 venues in 4 cities will be the host of the event.

20 teams have been divided into 4 groups namely A, B, C, and D. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the knockout format starting with Quarter Finals.

READ | Top 15 Football Studs to Buy Online in 2022

Groups of Durand Cup 2022

Group A

Group A
Indian Air Force

Group B

Group B
ATK Mohun Bagan
East Bengal
Mumbai City
Rajasthan United
Indian Navy

Group C

Group C
Army Red

Group D

Group D
Army Green
Kerala Blasters
NorthEast United
Sudeva Delhi


READ | Top 10 Best Football Balls to Buy Online

For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to the KreedOn network today – KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport 

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Saurabh Sameer Karmarkar
Saurabh Sameer Karmarkar
Saurabh’s love for Test cricket has no limits. He indulges himself in listening to experts talking about Test cricket. Saurabh absolutely loves the way Aussies play the game. He is quite new to football, but football fever has taken complete control of him. He is an ardent Bayern Munich fan. Saurabh loves to write about sports. Other than sports, he is a voracious reader, a fitness freak, loves physics, loves to stay away from social media, and a Mechanical Engineer too!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here