HomeSportsCricketBig surprises in store as BCCI releases Team India squad
-- Advertisement --

Big surprises in store as BCCI releases Team India squad

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

There were many surprises as the BCCI released the squads for the T20 series ODI series and against Sri Lanka and Australia respectively in January. Jasprit Bumrah will return to strengthen the bowling attack while Rohit Sharma has been rested for the series against the Lions. Mohammad Shami, who ended the year as the highest wicket-taker, was also relieved of his duties for the T20I series.

Jasprit Bumrah missed the T20 and ODI series against West Indies due to a stress fracture. However, Indian team physio Nitin Patel has now green-lighted him to play for Gujarat against Kerala starting Wednesday (25 December) in the Ranji Trophy. Opener Shikhar Dhawan returns to open after missing out against West Indies. 

-- Advertisement --

“Jasprit Bumrah is back in both the teams for Sri Lanka and Australia and we have rested Rohit Sharma and, Mohammed Shami for the Sri Lanka, T20Is,” the chairman of selectors MSK Prasad said after squad selection. Sanju Samson is the backup opener, Prasad added. 

India welcome Sri Lanka in three T20 international matches starting from 5 January 2020. The Men in Blue will then proceed to take on Australia in three ODI’s starting from 14 January. 

Rohit Sharma is rested for Sri Lanka. However, the opener will be available for selection against Australia. “Against Australia, we have all three openers available -Shikhar, Rohit and KL Rahul,” Prasad said. Rohit Sharma played 47 matches in 2019. It is understandable why the selection committee decided to give him a much-needed break. 

-- Advertisement --

Deepak Chahar injured his back in the second ODI against West Indies. Navdeep Saini replaces him. Despite the unavailability of Bhuvneshwar and Chahar, Prasad is confident on the backup pool of bowlers.

“We have created enough backup, and we have a good talent pool of fast bowlers. We also have Khaleel (Ahmed), who is playing Ranji Trophy and Navdeep (Saini) will replace Shami in T20Is,” Prasad said.


T20I vs Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, and Washington Sundar.

-- Advertisement --

ODI vs Australia

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Shami.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Manan Dharamshi
Manan Dharamshi
I usually describe myself with three 'F's, i.e, Food, Football and Films. Born and Brought up in Bangalore since the mid-1990s, I have always had a huge interest in playing football, cricket and watching other sports. People who know me always tell I bleed football. Sports, and Football, in particular, has helped me through hard times and helped me to shape my view on the world. And that is one of the reasons why I want to serve as a Sports Journalist.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here