HomeSportsCricketBig Bash League (BBL): The Ultimate Guide to Teams, Prize Money, and...
-- Advertisement --

Big Bash League (BBL): The Ultimate Guide to Teams, Prize Money, and the League’s Exciting Format!

- Advertisement -

The T20 format, also known as Twenty20 cricket, has revolutionized the game with its fast-paced and exciting nature. Introduced in 2003, it condenses the traditional game into 20 overs per side. This format has given rise to numerous domestic and international leagues. such as the Indian Premier League (IPL) and the Big Bash League (BBL), providing thrilling cricket action and showcasing top players from around the world. Let’s dive into the details of the Big Bash League.

-- Advertisement --

What is the Big Bash League (BBL)?

Big Bash League (BBL) | KreedOn
Image Source:

The Big Bash League (BBL) stands out as Australia’s premier domestic Twenty20 (T20) cricket tournament, renowned globally for its captivating and dynamic nature. It has become one of the most exciting T20 leagues, drawing cricket enthusiasts into a world of explosive matches and high-energy performances. Since its establishment in the 2011-2012 season, the BBL has evolved into a cricketing spectacle, showcasing eight competitive teams representing different Australian cities. With its reputation for action-packed cricket, dynamic teams, and the presence of international cricket stars, the BBL has emerged as a significant highlight on the cricketing calendar, offering six weeks of uninterrupted excitement during the Australian summer. Whether you’re a cricket aficionado or simply seeking thrilling sports entertainment, the BBL delivers a perfect fusion of talent and excitement, ensuring fans remain on the edge of their seats.

History of Big Bash League

BBL | KreedOn
Fireworks go off at the opening game of the Big Bash League 1st season. (Image Source: Getty Images)

The history of the Big Bash League (BBL) unfolds as a captivating narrative of cricketing thrill and ingenuity. Commencing in the 2011-2012 season, the BBL was initiated with the goal of revitalizing domestic T20 cricket in Australia, seeking to draw larger audiences and provide a platform for burgeoning talents to showcase their skills. From its inception, the BBL has been a showcase of dynamic batting, formidable bowling, and exhilarating fielding. It quickly endeared itself to cricket enthusiasts globally, becoming a favorite among fans. Throughout its evolution, the BBL has seen numerous teams ascend to greatness, establishing itself as a fertile ground for emerging talents aspiring to make their mark in international cricket.

-- Advertisement --

Season after season, the BBL’s popularity has surged, solidifying its place as a crucial component in the global T20 cricket calendar. The league’s history stands as a testament to its triumphs and the enthralling cricket it consistently delivers to its devoted fan base.

Cricket Terms | KreedOnAlso Read | Cricket Codebreaker: A Fan’s Dictionary of Essential Terms

Big Bash League (BBL) Teams

Big Bash League | KreedOn
Image Source:

The competition comprises eight franchises, each representing a city. With the exception of Sydney and Melbourne, which boast two teams each, every state capital is represented by one team.

-- Advertisement --
  1. Adelaide Strikers
  2. Brisbane Heat
  3. Hobart Hurricanes
  4. Melbourne Stars
  5. Melbourne Renegades
  6. Perth Scorchers
  7. Sydney Sixers
  8. Sydney Thunder

Big Bash League (BBL) Winners List over the years

2011/12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2012/13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers WACA Ground
2013/14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes WACA Ground
2014/15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Manuka Oval
2015/16 Sydney Thunders Melbourne Stars MCG
2016/17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers WACA Ground
2017/18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Oval
2018/19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars Docklands Stadium
2019/20 Sydney Sixers Melbourne Stars SCG
2020/21 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers SCG
2021/22 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Docklands Stadium

Worst Umpires in Cricket | KreedOnAlso Read | The Men in White Under Fire: Top 10 Worst Umpires in Cricket History

BBL Prize Money of Every Season 2011-12 to 2023-24

Big Bash League | KreedOn
Image Source:

The prize money awarded in each season of the Big Bash League (BBL) fluctuates. It serves as a significant motivator for teams to deliver peak performances. The victorious team typically earns a substantial cash reward upon securing the BBL trophy. In addition, there are prizes allocated for the runner-up team and outstanding players who demonstrate excellence in various aspects of the game, such as the highest run-scorer, leading wicket-taker, and the player of the tournament.

Specific amounts for each season’s prizes can be obtained from the official BBL announcements and documents. These figures are subject to change based on factors like sponsorship deals. Nevertheless, the allure of prize money acts as a compelling incentive for both teams and players. It motivates them to invest their utmost effort in the fiercely competitive and entertaining BBL matches.

First place – $450,000

Second place – $260,000

Third place – $80,000

Fourth place – $80,000

Fifth place – $20,000

The Big Bash League (BBL) has emerged as a significant fixture in the cricketing calendar. It has captivated audiences with its dynamic T20 cricket. Its popularity is on the rise, drawing in top-tier talent from across the globe and delivering memorable moments to cricket enthusiasts annually. Whether you’re a passionate cricket follower or simply seeking thrilling sports entertainment, the BBL is unquestionably a must-watch.

Prize Money for Every Season

Stages of Prize Money for Every Season 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020 2020-2021 2021-2022 2022-2023
Champions $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $450,000 $500,000
Runner-ups $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $220,000 $250,000
Semi-Final $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $80,000 (Each losing team in the semi-finals) $1,00,000 (each losing team)
5th Place Team $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 $30,000

KreedOnRead | Top 11 best Running shoes under 5000: High-Performance shoes for you

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here